As Gomorrah Burns

Montreal Technical Death Masters Cryptopsy returns with their eighth studio album As Gomorrah Burns. It was written over the last two years during the pandemic and they wrote and recorded this in a cabin to add to the horror movie-like ambiance.  This is the first full-length album since their 2012 self-titled release featuring original guitarist Jon Levasseur.

Much like their album None so Vile opened with “Crown of Horns”. As Gomorrah Burns opens with a fury of harmony and blast beats on the opening track “Lascivious Undivine”.  Vocalist Matt McGachy (3 Mile Scream) makes his presence felt right out of the gate.  I am a sucker for vocalists that announciate.  Throughout the album, he does an excellent job of creating varying vocal patterns to go over these groovy song arrangements.

The string section of Christian Donaldson (Guitars) and Oli Pinard (Bass Guitars) is locked in throughout the whole album.  Everything sounds on point, locked in, and well-executed.  They do a great job of throwing in style flairs from past albums towards the end of the opening track. Awesome way to open the album.

The eight tracks on this album range from almost three minutes to six minutes.  “In Obeyance” the second track is one of the tracks they promoted for this album release.   It is impressive how they manage to add all these throwback hooks into each track.  Flo Mourniers’ drum work is as strong as it has ever been.  Christian Donaldson’s guitar solo on the track “Godless Deceiver” is one of the first on the album and is quite tasty.

“Ill Ender” has a bit of djent to the grooves and pinch harmonics all over the place.  Staggered and even harmonies with harmonics. “Flayed The Swine” is my favorite track on the album. Some crazy time signatures going on in this one.  Oli Pinard’s bass work is in full force on “The Righteous Lost”. It is insane how quickly this album moves.  It does not lose any intensity.

“Obeisant” has the most non-conventional opens of any of the tracks on As Gomorrah Burns.  The strings sound dropped with a drum groove and then riffs slowly start creeping in.  Once you get to almost a minute in things pick up tempo. I like that they bring the opening part back later in the song and put some gnarly whole-tone scale run solos in there that transition in an odd-sounding arpeggio string rake section.  “Praise The Filth” is a great way to end an impressive album.  I enjoy the tremolo bar dive grooves that are throughout the album.

As a fan, I wish the album was ten minutes longer. Minor gripe.  More so a positive reflection of what is presented. It is still an impressive execution for this four-piece group. If you are a fan of Cryptopsy I do not see how you could not love this album.  This one checks off all the boxes folks.  One of the best albums of the year right here.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
September 11th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death