Artillery returns with a brand new studio album!!!!

Artillery – one of the best thrash metal bands around returns with a brand new studio album!

New material entitled “When Death Comes” will be their first studio release since the 1999’s album “B.A.C.K“!!!!!

Denmark’s Artillery is one of Europe’s earliest exponents of thrash metal and the band’s contribution to the bourgeoning genre is difficult to ignore. The Danish quartet successfully managed to fuse an abrasive brutality with technicality and good melodies, with the noteworthy guitar leads of the Stützer brothers as well as the remarkable vocals from Flemming Rønsdorf serving as highlights. Due to Artillery’s demos being well distributed, the band gained worldwide recognition even before the release of their first official album; and the band’s first three studio albums, “Fear of Tomorrow”, “Terror Squad” and “By Inheritance“, all assumed the status of classics in the thrash genre. However, due to lack of support from labels and internal band disputes, Artillery never really achieved their big breakthrough and thus split up in 1991. In late 1999, Artillery reunited and released the critically acclaimed album “B.A.C.K.”, but they never really took off as a band again. A few live appearances came in the wake of the release, only to be followed by silence. However, in 2008 the classic core of Artillery, consisting of Morten and Michael Stützer as well as Peter Thorslund (bass) and Carsten N. Nielsen (drums) rejoined forces and subsequently employed new vocalist Søren Adamsen, who provided the band with a rejuvenated energy and a musical prowess that was soon witnessed on the live DVD “One Foot in the Grave, The Other One in the Trash“, containing updated versions of classic material.
A new chapter in the life of Artillery has now begun with their brand new studio album, “When Death Comes“, which contains 10 blistering tracks that fill the void between past glory and future splendour. New material was recorded between March and April 2009 at Medley Studios in Denmark with Søren Andersen as the producer.

The band will promote the new album on a massive tour, which will be confirmed soon. So far the following events are confirmed:

24.04 Forbrændingen, Forbrændingen, Albertslund, Denmark w/ Konkhra
25.04 Vonhatten Randers, Denmark
04-06.06 Metal Magic Festival, Ungdommenhus, Fredericia, Denmark w/ Pagan Altar, Exmortem, Oliver Weers and more
13.06 Hellbrigade Festival, Thunder Road, Codevilla, Italy w/ Whiplash, Hyades and more
15.08 Jalo Metal Festival, Teatria Oulu, Oulu, Finland w/ Voivod, Electric Wizard, Nifelheim, Asphyx, Paradox and more

When Death Comes” will be released as a jewel case CD and as a digipak CD including 2 bonus tracks. Japanese edition of the album will include an exclusive bonus track which won’t be available elsewhere.

The tracklist looks as follows:

1. When Death Comes
2. Upon My Cross I Crawl
3. 10.000 Devils
4. Rise Above It All
5. Sandbox Philosopsy
6. Delusions Of Grandeure
7. Not A Nightmare
8. Damned Religion
9. Uniform
10. The End

Bonus tracks (European/US digipak version only):
1. Refuse To Live – Part 2
2. Warhead (Morten Stützer/Søren Adamsen)

Bonus track (Japanese version only):
1. Chaos Ride

Metal Mind Productions will release the “When Death Comes” on 15th June in Europe, 23rd July in Japan (via King Records) and 11th August in USA (via MVD). Additional info to follow soon!

The preview tracks will be available on MMP’s Myspace site on Thursday, 23rd April!!!