‘Curse of the Red River’ Out in March on Peaceville Records

HELSINKI, FINLAND – Finland’s up-and-coming progressive/death metal act, Barren Earth, has announced the release date for their debut full-length record, entitled Curse of the Red River. The new record, which hits stores in the US on March 29th via Peaceville Records, is the follow up to last November’s impressive, ‘Our Twilight’ EP.

With a wealth of experience from internationally renowned acts, featuring former members of Finnish metallers, Amorphis, to current members of Swallow the Sun, Moonsorrow, and Kreator, Barren Earth presents progressive and folk textured death/doom metal of the highest order. Curse of the Red River combines the best elements of metal, prog, and more obscure psychedelic rock – from Opeth to Pink Floyd, and Paradise Lost to Jethro Tull.

The Curse of the Red River recording session took place at Seawolf Studios, Helsinki (Ghost Brigade), in Summer 2009 with mixing carried out by the prolific Dan Swanö at Unisound in Sweden (Katatonia, Opeth, etc).

Swano states, “One of the best albums I have ever had the privilege to mix. The album is THAT good!”

Artwork comes courtesy of Travis Smith (Opeth, Katatonia, Bloodbath).

Barren Earth recently conducted their debut live gig in their hometown of Helsinki, and plan to embark upon a series of shows throughout 2010, with a performance at the legendary Summer Breeze festival already confirmed. Outburn Magazine declares, “…this year should be a big one for Barren Earth.”


Barren Earth is…

Mikko Kotamäki – Vocals (Swallow The Sun)

Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass (Ex-Amorphis, Mannhai) 

Kasper Mårtenson –Keyboards (Ex-Amorphis, Ben Granfelt Band)

Janne Perttilä – Guitar (Rytmihäiriö)

Marko Tarvonen – Drums (Moonsorrow)

Sami Ylisirniö – Guitar (Kreator, Waltari)