WOE’s new album out on October 12th

Candlelight Records today confirms October 12 as the North American release date for Quietly, Undramatically, the new album from WOE. Recorded at Gradwell House in Haddon Heights, New Jersey with additional tracking completed at frontman Chris Grigg’s BS1 in Philadelphia, the album is the first to feature a full band ensemble comprised of members from Absu, Woods of Ypres, The Green Evening Requiem, Infernal Stronghold and Rumpelstiltskin Grinder.

Formed in 2007, WOE originally began as a solo project of Philadelphia-based multi-instrumentalist Chris Grigg. Popular site Metal Review called WOE’s debut, A Spell For The Death Of Man (2008/Stronghold Records), “easily 2008’s most criminally overlooked album” while Mouth For War notes, “balancing technical mastery with desolate atmospherics, A Spell For The Death Of Man shears through the fabric of society with ferocious aggression and a hatred for mankind.” Teeth Of The Divine adds, “WOE turns out to be one of the very best pure black metal bands I’ve heard is some time. It captures the misanthropy, tortured melody, scarred atmospherics and introspective, craggy nihilism of the genre.”

Reveals Grigg, “Quietly, Undramatically is a major step forward for WOE. Not only is it our first release for Candlelight Records but the debut of WOE: the band as opposed to WOE: the solo project. The performances of Evan Madden (drums) and Shane Madden (bass) bring WOE to a whole new level. It is a much more mature album, featuring dynamics and ideas that WOE has never been able to tackle before. We are all very excited for this album’s release and the subsequent live performances in support of it!”

Quietly, Undramatically is WOE’s first release for England’s Candlelight Records. The album reunites the band with designer/illustrator Justin Miller. “Justin and I have worked together on different projects for years now and he has never let me down. I consider his art an additional song on the album — the most important song, the one that ties it all together. Sound is what I do, sight is what he does, and it is a relief to know that WOE‘s presentation is handled with such feeling.”

Track listing for Quietly, Undramatically is: 1) No Solitude, 2) The Road From Recovery, 3) Quietly, Undramatically, 4) A Treatise on Control, 5) Without Logic, 6) Full Circle, 7) Hatred is Our Heart.

WOE will celebrate the release with a free performance, along with labelmates KRIEG, at Philadelphia’s Kung Fu Necktie (1248 North Front Street) on October 28.  For additional live performances visit the band’s recently redesigned site at: http://quietly.WOEunholy.com.