Abhorrent Deformity
Entity of Malevolence

You can count on a few things in this world; death, taxes and Comatose Music releasing quality, brutal death metal.  And new act Abhorrent Deformity bring a little experience with them on their debut is drummer Matt Green who has session and live drummed for slam gods Kraanium. And though not as purely slam or perverted as Kraanium, these guys bring it with 10 tracks in 33 minutes of what I can only call ‘Comatose-y’ death metal.

Slick production, deep, sometimes guttural vocals, twangy bass, big ol slams and grooves and a vortex of clinical, tech death speed all come to the table with an array of USDM influences from Suffocation, Cannibal Corpse, Devourment etc,  and maybe just a touch of the modern death metal/deathcore stuff (Acrania, Ingested, Aversions Crown, etc), and while it’s hardly the most creative or unique sound, as with almost all their label mates, they simply do it well.

This isn’t world changing or ground breaking brutal death metal. Its just solid, solid stuff from start to finish. All 10 tracks are in that sweet 3-5 minute mark, so they never outstay their welcome, have a great, meaty not too clinical not too dirty production, and all have a perfect mix of speed and heft as well as a commanding presence and ample skill from the players.

The album’s longest track “Stench of the Decomposed” comes closest to a standout track and the likes of “Boundless Suffering” and title track delivers a stiff shots of pure, no nonsense brutality. The albums last three cuts the rumbling “Enshrined in Putrid Decay”, “baptized in Embalming Fluid” and “Casket Maker” end the album with a really strong trio of tracks that hint at something pretty damn good for future releases. Another win for Comatose Music.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 16th, 2015


  1. Commented by: Aaron

    Blarg, just did an order from them for the Christmas deal, should have picked this up, sample track sounds great.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock