Sadistic Crown EP

Sadistic Crown is the debut EP from Montreal’s Absolve, a young band who have their musical screws turned tight, but are somewhat hindered by a relatively generic sounding vocalist.

Lets start on the positive side of things here. Musically, Sadistic Crown is brimming with tight performances, hooky, memorable riffs, molten solos and bruising kit work. Their style is that of thrash infused modern death metal, with a sprinkling of melody and hardcore. Now, I wouldn’t go as far to call them metalcore, as the hardcore elements and breakdowns feel much more natural than that of your standard core acts making the rounds. “My Wrath Will Follow You”, “Rot and Decay” and thrashing closer “Hell Dust Impulse” are proof positive of this.

Vocally, Jeff Linstead delivers a performance throughout that falls somewhere between the likes of Phil Anselmo (not another one), Lamb of God‘s Randy Blythe, and Hatebreed‘s Jamey Jasta – three vocalists who seem to be endlessly imitated these days. He performs admirably in this style I suppose, but seems to be mismatched by the talent of his bandmates. The music calls for something a bit more powerful and unique, with perhaps a bit more variety and range.

Absolve are nothing to get to worked up about yet, but are certainly a band I’ll be keeping an eye on in the future.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
September 1st, 2010


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing