The Dreaming I

There are some United States Underground acts that can construct rituals of dark atmosphere. Look no further than Naas Alcameth founder of the void inducing beast that is Nightbringer who has created yet another side project of meticulous malebolgias of hellish landscapes which are presented for on the 2015 effort ,The Dreaming I. Naas Alcameth creates an engulfing atmosphere with The Dreaming I.

There is a hypnotic quality to The Dreaming I starting off with the opener appropriately entitled “Breath and Levitation” which starts off with a shrieking pulse and starts you off into an ambient buildup for the first two and a half minutes of the song before the instrumentation kicks off.  The verse riff is a mixture of arpeggios and with some absolutely gross vocal work.

“Consummation”, third song is my favorite on this album. At sixteen minutes long it’s the longest song on the record.  “Consummation” probably has my favorite guitar part on the record at around 3:45. Very well constructed harmonies transitioning into a majestic void of consciousness turns to a grim ending. I like that this record is not overdriven by guitar parts but the way that they are arranged keeps the whole album very linear.

“The Dreaming Eye”, the fourth song on The Dreaming I reminds me very much of Limbonic Art’s Moon Over Scorpio record. The guitar sound and riff structure have a very similar space like feel.  The Dreaming I definitely has the feeling of an album that you should sit down and make time for as a whole most of the song on this album around ten minutes long.

The Dreaming I is definitely worth the listen and like other similar black metal side projects makes for an entertaining listen in that it presents some different elements that you might not necessarily get from their main projects. The ambient parts on The Dreaming I reminds me also of Cold Meat Industries artists like MZ.412 in the sense that there are combination of two specific elements going on to form the album.

I could compare a record like Summoning Dol Goldur to this in that it feels like Naas Alcameth is trying to create a record that takes you to type of environment. Summoning in a way with the Tolkien influence do a similar thing.  To wrap up my point on this  The Dreaming I is an entertaining black metal record with cool ambient parts.  It has very broad longer song arrangements and really does require some time to focus on the material.   Akhlys’ The Dreaming I is a well-arranged album that is worth giving a listen.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
May 25th, 2015


  1. Commented by: glimmerfunnel

    I found this review to be of dubious journalistic quality.

  2. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Glimmer- we are testing out some new writers- would you care to offer some constructive criticism, as a reader, as to why you think the above so we can help potential new writers improve?

  3. Commented by: glimmerfunnel

    To be honest, it’s as if this review had been written in a different language and then translated on the internet. It is choppy beyond description. I have no doubt that the reviewer is capable and knowledgeable enough to review this album. However, the lapses in syntax, basic language and editing leave quite a bit to be desired. I have found many things on this website that I am pleased to say that I own now. It is because of the quality of the reviews. A few changes to this one would bring it up to speed.

  4. Commented by: Nick K

    Hi Glimmer,

    I appreciate the feedback. I spent a great deal of time on this particular review and it has been about ten years since i wrote reviews last. I can assure that not all of my reviews are like this. I do see what you mean though. Thanks for attempting to read my review.


  5. Commented by: gabaghoul

    finally listening to this, it is definitely going to be a grower. lots of DSO chaos tangled up with more sweeping Emperor-like movements.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness