Souvenirs d'Un Autre Monde

We all know that France has been responsible for some of the more extreme black metal, but what about the nicer side of things? Not black metal or even white or grey metal, lets call it ‘green’ metal.

Plying a sprightly, uplifting form of acoustic heavy, folkish metal that seems to cull from the likes of Ulver’s Bergtatt and say Tenhi, Alcest, consisting of the single entity Neige (Peste Noire, ex-Mortifera, Amesoeurs, Forgotten Woods), is a beautifully woven musical tapestry of refreshingly uplifting art

Each of the 6 fairly long tracks has its own mood and character form the merry but peacefully blastbeat canter of opener “Printemps Émeraude”, to the delightful gait of closer “Tir Nan Og”, which sounds like what Enya would sound like if she played acoustic folk metal

Speaking of Enya, meaning no pot disrespect to Neige, my only gripe with this truly beautiful album are his Garm meets Enya vocals which come across as a bit feminine, so much so when the female guest vocals of Audrey Sylvain appear on penultimate track “Sur l’autre rive je t’attendrai”, I can hardly tell the difference. Still, it adds to the forested, sylph like ambience of the album and adds and air of ethereal if androgynous melancholy to the generally warm and fuzzy atmospheres

On the whole, Alcest is yet anther superb release for Profound Lore whose quality over quantity mantra continues for this truly mesmerizing album

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 17th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu