All That Remains
The Order of Things

Dear All That Remains:

We are writing this letter with heavy hearts, as we regret to inform you that your membership in The Metal Community, LLC is being terminated as of February 24, 2015.  The main issue lies in the fact that your last two albums (including the current one) have been a flat out embarrassment for yourselves as well as The Metal Community, LLC and the time has come to end the relationship.

Your time here started out well, with albums such as This Darkened Heart and Fall of Ideals permanently cementing your place as one of the best melodic metalcore bands in the world.  Even Overcome (which was unjustly criticized) was a very solid album, as well as its follow up …For We Are Many.  The problem lies in the last album of yours, A War You Cannot Win.  That atrocious example of whinecore awfulness put us here at The Metal Community, LLC on high alert, and we sincerely hoped with this latest output, The Order of Things, that you all would be able to get back on track.  Unfortunately, it was nothing but Whinecore 2.0 – The Dreaded Sequel No One Wanted To Hear.

From the opening track, “This Probably Won’t End Well” (which is ironic as that is the exact answer to the question: How will the career of All That Remains end if they continue down this same path?), it is obvious that you all learned nothing.  This whiny, sappy, pathetic opening to a “metal” album might be a hit with the 13-17 year old teenage girl category that are going through their first breakup, but to us at here at The Metal Community, LLC it was cringe-inducingly awful.  You flirt with your old selves in the follow up track, “No Knock”, and actually had us reconsidering our decision.  But then you attempt to light the motivational fire with “The Greatest Generation”, with the once again oddly ironic line “Remember what made us great?”  News flash gentlemen: it wasn’t the laughable lamefest that makes up this entire album, which is why we’re at where we are today.  “For You” is another tear-jerking pop-rock of a song, and just the title alone to the track “Tru-Kvlt-Metal” was the final straw in our decision as your band has become a sad representation of anything close to that.

Now you might say: “Well we mix in some tough vocals and a little double bass… come on doesn’t that count for something?”  If you were trying to be the next Shinedown or the “metal” version of Nickelback, then maybe.  But you had set the bar admirably high at The Metal Community, LLC, and these last two outputs have everyone longing for the days past and absolutely confident we have made the right decision to part ways.  Thank you for your time and service, and good luck in all future endeavors.

The Metal Community, LLC

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kevin E
March 11th, 2015


  1. Commented by: Dave

    The popularity of the metalcore these guys were playing before has completely tanked, and no one cares anymore. Their only hope was to soften things up and hope for a more commercial friendly fan base. It was probably all over anyway, might as well try to tap into the mainstream market.

    “This probably won’t end well” could be said about pretty much any metalcore band at this point.

  2. Commented by: Kevin E

    I disagree. Howard Jones put out a killer release with his new band “devil you know”. So it’s still very possible to put out good stuff in the genre when you’re not trying to make the metal version of”the notebook” as all that remains have done twice in a row.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge