Opposition EP

Listen, this is Christian metal on Strikefirst Records, so spare me the lecture and redundant lashes OK?

hailing from Colorado, Altars debut effort of Facedown’s farm league label, is actually a pretty promising 6 song affair. It’s one of those multi faceted modern Christian hardcore records that combines  a punchy production burly deathcore beat downs with energetic hardcore prose  and vocals and plenty of religious lyrics. It’s nothing that will convert the masses but its lack of wimpy clean vocals (and lack of forced death metal growls) and overly peaceful moments make it a more hefty option for the Christian metal head.

After the requisite opening breakdown/chant/march “Opposition”  (an apparent must to sign to Facedown/Strikefirst), the band unleash the opening breakdown of “Advocate” with has a tight choppy lurch before the more hardcore based trot takes over and then more mechanical, staggering style.

And that’s essentially where the rest of the EP goes as the likes of “The Struggler”,  “Heresy” and “Volition” are tight and focused, with just enough mix of heft, melody and rousing moments to be a nice little addition to Christian metal and I imagine, Facedown’s rosters at some point.




[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 17th, 2011


  1. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy


  2. Commented by: krustster

    I think you should stop saying in the reviews that bands are christian, and see if Nick Taxidermy still feels the need to make a stupid comment on each one.

  3. Commented by: gabaghoul

    I don’t even have to open a review to know if Nick has made a comment. I can just tell by scanning the ‘Maelstrom of Komments’ on the front page.

  4. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    I only did it this time because they asked me not to.

  5. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    and anyway, it’s on Strikefirst…

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu