Psychotic EP

Here we have the debut EP from Amorphead who hail from Italy and play a modern form of death/thrash.

Psychotic is a 6 track offering book-ended by an intro and outro, cleverly titled as “Dreaming” and “Awakening”, respectively, leaving four proper songs. From what I can tell of these four, they have a slightly different take on the genre than the usual fare, relying more on groove and melodic bits rather than balls out thrashing and speed. Chugging, groove based mid-tempo riffs occasionally give way to melodic sections and searing solos. If there’s one thing they have down, it’s the solos. Each track has at least one, somewhat exceptional solo.

Their biggest downfall are the vocals, which are…not good, or at the least, average – very monotonous and boring. The riffs are also kind of lifeless and dull. Sure they groove, but they don’t stick.

The guitarists in Amorphead clearly have some talent as evidenced by their solo work, but they need to focus on writing some better riffs and convince their vocalist to try a new approach, or find someone new.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
January 19th, 2010


  1. Commented by: gabaghoul

    find a new band name while you’re at it

  2. Commented by: Cynicgods

    That’s the most polite bashing I have ever seen a band get. You must be a glass half-full kind of person, Larry. :D

    These dudes must use that band name so people grab their discs by mistake instead of Amorphis’s. Lame.

  3. Commented by: Staylow

    “You must be a glass half-full kind of person, Larry.”

    Not really – I’ve written a couple scathing reviews. I didn’t want to go too hard on them because I think they have at least a little bit of potential, but have a long ways to go.

    As far as the name, I thought about saying something about it, but it’s too easy/obvious.

  4. Commented by: Grymmbear

    *looks at band name*

    “It’s belly out of heartaaaaaaaaaaa-EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKS…”

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal