Angel of Sodom
Divine Retribution (Reissue)

Marquee Records owner, Armando Pereira truly knows his metal music.  No disrespect to Finnish thrash metal band, Angel of Sodom, but I had never heard of them, up until recently.  Upon gazing out the album cover for Divine Retribution you would think this is more geared towards classic or power metal, but no, it’s thrash metal and honestly, this album is quite a gem of a thrash album.  Thankfully, Armando has unearthed this album, which was only released a few years ago, in digital format.

Opening with “All Shall Die”, Angel of Sodom rip into a sound similar to Exodus/Kreator/Forbidden.  One of the many things AOS does so remarkably well is write catchy and memorable songs with unreal catchy choruses.  The mid-paced moments with this song title being screamed and then ripping into the guitar melodies is quite stellar, before the band juices up the crunch and groove and vicious double bass.  Vocals are similar to Zetro, from Exodus and are spewed forth with much piss ‘n vinegar, the way thrash metal was meant to be always been played.  There are also some sections with some death metal influences with some growling and some of the guitar heaviness, but overall this is thrash metal of the highest caliber.  The title track is a nice fast paced ditty of a number with some growling vocals and excellent guitar melodies at the 2.10 mark and the 2.30 drum pattern right after the singer says Kill ‘Em All!! is a thing of beauty.

“Entry Denied” is another vicious tune with some monstrous double bass.  Listen to this bastard with your sub-woofer on, it will crush all the non-believers out there.  Again a chorus you will sing and hum in your head all damn day long.  Also follow along and scream, “Burn” all over the place, just to piss your neighbors off.  “The Burning Hammer” begins with a vicious Exodus stylized crunch, sounding from the Fabulous Disaster classic era.  The song has everything, speed, crunch, double bass and an excellent memorable catchy chorus.  This is one of the best tunes on the album.   “Laid to Waste” ends the full length, as all full length thrash metal albums should end…in an awesome build-up with spoken word vocals and some mid-paced thrashing with the speed picking up and awesome vocals, spewing forth the song’s title.  But we’re in for a treat with the reissue.  Marquee Records went ahead and added the Heavens Ablaze single which includes the title track and “Die as a Martyr”.  Both vicious thrash metal tunes.  “Die as a Martyr” has a heavy Megadeth influence, just much heavier and is quite the headbanger.

All the material across the Divine Retribution full-length and Heavens Ablaze ep is remastered and this is one of the best remasterings I’ve heard.  All the material punches you in the face with the heaviness and loudness and most of all clarity.  I mean the crunch comes through more powerful and the speed and power like “Chaos (The Seven-Headed Beast)” blast you over the head so you are forced to remember their awesomeness over and over again.  The booklet is well designed with lyrics and I swear every single photo from Angel of Sodom’s photo shoot is put in here. Some of the them tongue and cheek with one of the members flexing his muscles and I guess this adds to the old school charm.  Everything is housed in an awesome, not slim-shitty, thick digipak.  The only item missing is the inclusion of the ep album cover of the Heavens Ablaze single.

Angel of Sodom are an outstanding thrash metal band and just when you think you’ve heard the best song the next one comes along and bests it.  Every song and I mean EVERY song is memorable and excellent.  What a goddamned find, Marquee Records.  This thrash metal album lays waste to 95% of the thrash metal albums I’ve heard in the last 5-7 years, without question.  Buy or Die!!!!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
April 28th, 2017


  1. Commented by: Grindymcgrinder

    I can’t do christian metal so I’m gonna pass…

  2. Commented by: Grindymcgrinder

    Awesome review though I have to say.

  3. Commented by: Frank Rini

    They’re not Christian metal. Glad you liked the review, though.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness