Dying For Life

Oh yeah! Classic melodic, technical thrash lives! Ohio’s Antithesis plays a blistering brand of classic metal akin to Helstar, Sanctuary and even old Realm and Toxik. They blend choppy, thrash-like riffs, excellent guitar harmonies and lead work, tight, technical drumming and clean, yet edgy vocals into a hard hitting record that is both fresh and familiar all at once.

I really like the music on this disc, as it is reminiscent of some of my favorite bands from back in the day. I think what makes it fresh sounding now, besides the skill and conviction with which the band plays, is that hardly anyone is doing this style now. I mean, Destiny’s End is, but their directly descendent of Helstar. Antithesis are not Gothenberg influenced, not attempting to incorporate “nu metal” groove into their sound, and not trying to water down their sound for the masses. These days, they would, and do, fall under the ever-growing prog metal umbrella.

Opening cut “Soul Of Ice” starts with a great harmonized riff and strong melody. There is plenty of double kick-drum work, technical transitions and strong riffing throughout to really get your fists pumping. Vocalist Ty Cook has a strong mid-range voice with a good sense of melody and enough edge to fit right in with the music. He never relies on high screams or tries to go beyond his range. Rather, he delivers the songs with power and believability. “Distanced” begins with a tight, melodic bass and drum riff before the precision guitars come in. The melody theme is sort of old Queensryche-ish with its bass fills. The extended prog intro showcases the band’s excellent musicianship nicely. The acoustic guitar intro on “Deceiver Within” is outstanding. When the bass and drums come in, they carry the melody while the guitars add some ambient harmonics. Cook’s vocal prowess is really displayed on the intro as well. He has a smooth, clear delivery on the slow parts. When the song kicks in, the harmonized riffs are quite tasty! The epic title track, at over nine minutes, is a musical journey that needs to be taken. It goes from clean guitar melodies, to full on technical metal madness and is literally bursting with dynamics!

This is truly a refreshing metal disc. Antithesis have managed to stay true to their roots and put out a high quality metal release that doesn’t bow to current fashion. Dying For Life should be in every metal fan’s collection.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
April 11th, 2001


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu