ART 238
Empire of The Atom

In a nutshell, French newcomers ART 238 really, really like The Berzerker, as their form of industrialized, heavily programmed death metal is a virtual clone of the now maskless Aussies, but aren’t quite up to that standard yet.

Churning, down tuned guitars mix with blast beat heavy, (programmed?) robotic drums, deep growls, frenzied shrieks and lots of samples and clanging, clunking and whirring combine to make this a by the numbers industrial/cyber death metal release, with a heavy emphasis on the mechanical, violent side of furious blast beats rather than the more polished and cybernetic lurch and beep of say Scorngrain, Scarve or Total Devastation.

Starting with the aptly titled “Meltdown” and ending with sample heavy blaster “Out of the Wastelands”, ART 238 cut an industrial swathe with their 10 structurally sound yet obviously influenced tracks. And as is the M.O with industrial death metal, ART 238 throw in the occasional slower, lumbering sections (“Gruntz”, the sprawling “Dusk of Mankind”, parts of “Dawn of Mutants”) and requisite beeps and buzzes (“Circle of Vultures”) amid the bursts of downtuned, Terminator inspired grindcore/death metal (“Skull Crushed”, “Guinea Pig”), but I’ll admit its nowhere near the quality of the Berzerker as far as sheer intensity or riff writing prowess.

Still though, if you are waiting patiently for the next The Berzerker album, ART 238 is a solid stand in that should satiate your desire for industrial tinged brutality.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 13th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness