Astaroth Incarnate
Ascendance EP

I’m always up for some bombastic, symphonic black metal, but other than maybe False, Belzebubs, Northwind Wolves and Kull (if they don’t really count as ‘new’) and some other Black Lion Records bands, there are few new, exciting young purely old school bands in the genre, as I typically rely on the old guard of Cradle of Filth, Stormlord and Dimmu Borgir for my fix.

Well, enter Canadian act Astaroth Incarnate, (formerly just Astaroth) founded/fronted by vocalist Astaroth, who clearly is a fan of Cradle of Filth and Dimmu Borgir‘s theatrical, orchestral dramatics and over the top overtures, especially in the vocal department and in the impressive keyboards/choirs utilized throughout the 3 song, 15 minute or so foray.

“I am Fire, I am Death (Alpha)” starts things off with a slow piano tinkle before exploding in impressively bombastic, orchestral fashion, unashamed of the clear influence, with high pitched rasps deep roars and gothic, sweeping epic keyboards. But its delivered with Stormlord‘s thicker, meatier production of Supreme Art of War. “I am Fire, I am Death (Omega) is a little more restrained and reigned in with more mid paced, moody marching mixed in with the regal blasts.

However, it’s the third track that initially got my attention in the promotional material, a cover of Cradle of Filth’s “Her Ghost in the Fog” from the Midian album . As if the band needed anymore sleeve bound influence to display, the cover is a visceral take on the classic song, with a few drum patterns differed and the synths having their own character while still paying homage. And Astaroth is clearly having fun mimicking Dani Filth’s over the top prose.

One of the more promising, newer, symphonic black metal bands I have discovered in a while, and I hope a full length album is coming soon.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 8th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Red Vinter - We Built Our Own Death Machine (Demo)
  • Spiritual Deception - Semitae Mentis
  • Vincent Crowley - Anthology of Horror
  • Morbid Saint - Swallowed by Hell
  • Job For A Cowboy - Moon Healer
  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP