Aversion's Crown
Hell Will Come For Us All

Fuck, I really overlooked this, the fourth album from Australia’s Aversion’s Crown. So, sorry for the belated review. I’ve enjoyed the last 2 efforts (2017s Xenocide and 2014s Tyrant), but can’t say I’ve revisited them much since their release. But holy shit am I glad I revisited this on a whim after hearing the closing track “The Final Judgement”.

Though certainly under the ‘deathcore’ tag, like many bands in the genre they have developed into something more tech death metal on album number 4. With slightly less mechanical, cybernetic, sci-fi themes than the prior albums, the world ending, Hell Will Come For Us All, sees more atmospherics and keyboards and stronger more developed songwriting that puts them a little more in the same ballpark as latter Whitechapel, Lorna Shore, Shadow of Intent, Carnifex and such, though not as fully symphonic.

And while some of their peers are either stuck in a deathcore rut (Thy Art is Murder) or slowed things down to a djenty chug and added lame clean vocals (Fit For An Autopsy, whose Will Putney produces here), Aversion’s Crown has managed to develop subtle additions into their sound while still delivering devastating deathcore tropes at the same time.

Look no further than blackened savagery of opener “The Soil”, the title track, utterly fucking devastating “Scourge of Violence”, massive, aptly named “Hymn of Annihilation” or the killer closing duo of “Sorrow Never Sleeps” and aforementioned Lorna Shore imbuing closer, “The Final Judgement”, with their more blackened, synth backed delivery, for perfect examples of how deathcore can be done with just enough evolution to keep it relevant, and more importantly heavy as fuck.

If we are still calling this deathcore , Hell Will Come For Us All is one of the best albums of the year in the style, right after Lorna Shore‘s Immortal. If this isn’t deathcore anymore, it’s still a fucking great album of modern extremity.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 19th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul