Bleed In Vain
Say Everything Will Be Fine

Say Everything Will Be Fine is a review I’ve been putting off for some time now due to the fact that when I want this brand of metal, I have many better selections to choose from. The style presented here by Venice, Italy’s Bleed In Vain is that of modern Soilwork (post – Natural Born Chaos) with splashes of hardcore and groove laden thrash ala Pantera or Machine Head with the standard clean/harsh flip/flop vocals utilized by so many bands today. While to me this sounds like it could be a pretty decent concoction, the end result of the band’s efforts is rather bland and ends up lost in a sea of average similar bands.

“Bullet Proof” opens things up on the more aggressive end of things, stuck somewhere between Pantera, Hatebreed, and Machine Head, thanks in part to the pinch harmonics employed by guitarists Davide Carraro and Enrico Pajaro, topped off by a touch of melody in places. They mix it up a bit with some choppy, simple riffing in “End In Hand”, “Tomorrow Is No More”, and “E.Y.E.”, while vocalists Enrico Longhin channels Zakk Wylde a bit in parts of “H – Filter”. Although the Soilwork influence is felt through the majority of the record, it’s especially prevalent in “Things You Own”, which also displays some electonica at its start, and one can even detect some Whoracle/Colony era In Flames riffing in “Heart Pattern”. As a bit of a surprise, they’ve included a cover of Billy Idol’s “Shock to the System” as the album closer, and while they haven’t drastically changed anything, it’s certainly more metallic, executed well, and actually fits in with the rest of the album nicely.

Although there are some interesting moments scattered throughout the album, overall it seems bland and uninspired. With the wide array of vocal talents that Longhin possesses (there’s even some death growls thrown in here and there), one could only hope that next time out, they bring something a little fresher for us to feast on.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
October 29th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness