After a mini slew of solid records dating back to the likes of Harlots, The Concubine and Veil Of Maya, Corrosive Recordings have a bit of a miss here in the form of Arizona’s so called ‘Botch n Roll’ noise mongers, Blues and their debut album.

Frenetic and jarring with moments of Bluesy, Southern rawk, Blues are certainly noisy and caustic, and the Botch comparisons are somewhat legitimate and even a Breather Resist and Coliseum is in here somewhere, but on the whole, this is no more than another dissonant, angular hardcore band trying to be the next Every Time I Die (The Jonbenet, Cancer Bats, The Assailant, etc).

Much like a snakepit, the riffs are often a seething indefinable mass, with the occasional color (groove) or hue (riff) showing for a moment and the production is suitably heavy with a jangly open ended dissonant guitars and a low bottom end. It’s not nearly as caustic as former label mates Harlots, and not quite as Southern and rock based as say Remove the Veil or Maylene, but sort of a non committal middle ground that’s a forgetful musical limbo. Add to that, the vocals are the strained wail/shout/moan, that’s popular in the genre but the whole thing adds up to a forgetful, clichéd mess that has me reaching for the source material

A couple of moments warrant a bit of attention, but it’s mainly the slower moodier injections like scattered in “Yeti”, “What it Takes to Shrink”, “The Bloated Mind” and “Say Nothing But Good of the Dead” but other wise the record is a tumbling mass of noisy mediocrity.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 21st, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP