Ruins of Humans EP

Florida’s Brutality return with their first official recording since the outstanding 1996 album, In Mourning.  We only get 2 songs, but they are really good songs and this also marks the return of the original band logo.

The 8 minute title track opens the album and the return of the signature Brutality blast beats hits you like a ton of bricks.  The 2 minute mark also has the fantastic sounding groove that Brutality were known for in the 90’s.  The 3.27 mark has a very old school Deicide feel.  Some killer melodic guitar soloing as well.  The long song alternates between blast beats and groove.  “Irreversibly Broken” is up next, at close to 6 minutes the song has some epic guitar solos and the song is primarily mid paced throughout.  A little variation would have gone a long way, but hell Brutality are back so F the weak!!

Not everything is peaches and cream in the production department.  While recorded under the watchful eye of Jim Morris at the legendary Morrisound Studio in Tampa, Florida I would have expected a little bit better production.  Now the sound on this is a little more stripped down and rawer than the prior 3 Brutality albums, which I am ok with.  But the double bass comes across as a little much, too loud in the mix, thus drowning out the guitar.  The vocals are also mixed way upfront in the mix, should have been scaled back a bit.

The cd cover is similar to a demo cover from the 90’s and looks really cool, lyrics are also included.  At the end of the day Brutality are back with a nice little ditty of an ep and if you were a fan of theirs before the $10 for this should not set you back too much.  Pick up RUINS OF HUMANS today, it’s good!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
November 29th, 2013


  1. Commented by: Black death

    Amazing album by one of my favorite bands. Every time someone asks me about a great death metal band, I send them to BRUTALITY!!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain
  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon