Fall EP

Here’s a very cool little 3 song, 30 minute EP out of Southampton England from a female fronted blackgaze/atmospheric black metal act that really hits on all notes for the genre and adds a little of its own angelic character to the mix.

The clear, ignorant comparison is Myrkur, as this is female fronted black metal with a balance of clean, ethereal vocals and hawkish shrieks. However where Myrkur is a little more brittle and frosty in her blackened expulsions, Cairiss take more from the Cascadian, atmospheric black metal scene with a more melodic and robust, but sorrowful timbre. Think VallenduskDeafheavenWoods of Desolation and dare I say, Ghost Bath (fuck you, I love those guys) and such. Also, there is a hue of Opeth lurking under the black sheen with nice, lighter acoustic light segues. There’s also a bit of a crunchier Gothic metal or doom element, especially when front woman Freya Jane-Brown switches to her superbly mournful, ethereal clean voice.

All of those elements are readily apparent in excellent opener “For the Lives He Stole”, a 12 minute monster of a track that covers a lot of ground and a lot of styles confidently and completely in just one song; soft acoustic opening, a big crunchy somber bridge with clean vocals, then a stern black metal expulsion and the cycle repeats, effectively. However, second track, “Disgraced” my favorite of the three really shines. A nice woodsy acoustic intro lulls you into a nice little melodic riff (where the Woods of Desolation and Ghost Bath hues really kick), which Freya adds to in the back ground, then at 3:52, a brilliant, shimmery, tremolo blast kicks in showing a real grasp of delicate but bristling harmonies. It ends with a gorgeously melodic climax and has quickly become of of my favorite songs of the year. “Fall” has the decidedly difficult job of following “Disgraced” but works as a more Myrkur styled atmospheric track allowing Freya to deliver her child-like hypnotic range and close the EP on a beautiful, dreamy note. The nice,  somber, mid pace riff that closes it out, is mere icing on the cake.

The whole thing is rendered with a top notch production from guitarist Ethan Bishop and there is a ‘real’ it factor to this band and release, so I hope some label folks read this (Northern Silence? Hypnotic Dirge?) and get these guys signed and more exposed. Great stuff.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 1st, 2016


  1. Commented by: Jebus krist

    So since myrkur stole all those riffs this actually sounds like ulver?

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu