Brand New Babylon

This Italian darkwave gothic rock band seems to have quite the following, but as soon as I heard that they play a combination of later Katatonia and Dead Can Dance I knew I was in for a tough review. I hate reviewing bands that play a style I can’t stand. While I can appreciate musicianship in music forms I don’t appreciate, I still have to subject myself to the torture of a careful listen for the purpose of review writing.

Some background is in order. Ras Alghetti was a doom metal band that changed name and style in 1996. Canaan is the result. Not surprisingly, there are doom elements on their early releases and they have diminished over time. Brand New Babylon is their third album. 1998’s Walk Into My Open Womb was over 90 minutes in length, so I was relieved to discover that Babylon is much shorter. Musically, samplers and keyboards are extremely important as is a dreamy somber atmosphere. They provide discreet arrangements with small orchestrations with simplistic drumming and reverberating guitars. Luckily, they keep the minimalism to a minimum, since I get tired of their “somber trip to the heart of loneliness.”

All I can say is I’m not a fan of this style of music so don’t listen to me. As the intro to their website says, “The shells are stronger silence has a meaning the future is clear see you in Babylon.” If this sounds appealing to you check them out, others seem to think they are great, me, I’m in no hurry to go to Babylon.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
June 28th, 2000


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu