Cardiact Arrest
Haven for the Insane

What’s that, you say? It’s been a while since you were properly earfucked? Well, you’re in luck, because Cardiac Arrest is prepared to rape everything in sight, and they’re especially fond of ears. In fact, they’re nearly creaming themselves with a rabid love for filthy underground death metal, and they’re just dying to fill you up with it. The sickening death-doom-grind-punkish vibe emanating from Haven for the Insane is pungent and meaty enough to choke on.

What you’re served with Haven for the Insane is a vomit-caked plate heaped with just about every putrid helping you’d come to expect from a group on the Ibex Moon Records roster, all wrapped up with a gritty stab-you-in-the-basement sound that’s sure to appeal to degenerates and perverts the (metal) world over. Beer-soaked vocals splatter over an intensely sick/thick background comprising of maniacal guitar work, churning low end and non-fucking-stop drum blasts. Tracks like…well, basically all of them showcase this, but highlights would be “Against Their Will,” with its relentless drum attacks, tempo shifts and evil riffing; “Embrace the Aftermath” for its eerie, crawling groove; and “Rage On…Fuck Off” for a twitching punk vibe and the best intro ever: “one, two…one, two, fuck you!” The only break from the madness is between songs, so wear your diapers, kiddies.

Having never heard Cardiac Arrest prior to Haven for the Insane, I can’t say where the album stacks up in comparison to earlier material, but with the ferocity and insanity spewed out of these 12 tracks, my bet is that the C.A. maniacs have been grinding out this unholy, chaotic Razorback-esque mess (I mean that in the best way possible) since their inception. And I say keep on deathrotting in the free world, gentlemen.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jodi Van Walleghem
July 20th, 2010


  1. Commented by: Jordan Itkowitz

    stab you in the basement, LOL

  2. Commented by: Brandon Duncan

    Hahahaha, this review rules.

  3. Commented by: Biff_Tannen

    One of Chicago’s best, for sure. These guys put on a great show live as well.

  4. Commented by: Biff_Tannen

    one two, one two, FUCK YOU !!! is a nod to Slaughter’s (canada) amazing album, “Strappado” If you haven’t heard that album, Jodi , drop what ever you are doing and listen to it ASAP. Track down the version with 4 or 5 extra songs that were cut from the original release due to label problems, but are amoung the best in the bunch.

  5. Commented by: Shawn Pelata

    “they’re nearly creaming themselves with a rabid love for filthy underground death metal, and they’re just dying to fill you up with it.”

    Eewww…. :-)

  6. Commented by: Cynicgods

    How many gory horror films and midget porn have you been watching lately, Jodi? :P

    Lovely review, young lady!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP