Carnal Forge
Testify For My Victims

I haven’t really given Carnal Forge any thought or attention since their 1998 debut, Whose Gonna Burn? as all the subsequent albums seemed to blaze by in a tight but lifeless vortex of neo-thrash, but when I heard the band had a new vocalist and had taken a more melodic direction, I decided to give Testify For My Victims a chance.

Well, yes the band appears to be now slightly more in the ranks of a melodic death metal band rather than a high octane thrash act, but a fairly standard, if slightly more intense melodic death metal band. The thing is, even with their new direction slightly more controlled direction, there’s little to separate the band from the likes of similar acts like Within Y, Disharmonia Mundi, The Defaced, Dimension Zero, Darkane, Terror 2000 and such.

Still, the brothers Kuusisto are talented guitarists who shred with gusto, and now add some solos and melodic layering as heard on the opening title track, “Burning Eden” and “Q.P.T.O.O.M.M” but also retain some of their prior furor for tracks like “Numb (The Dead)” but also seem a bit neutered and less high octane for tracks like “Godsend, Gods End”, “End Game” “Subhuman”, “No Longer Bleeding” and snoozing closer “Ante Mori”.

It’s damned if you do, damned if you don’t sort of dilemma where the band has indeed matured their sound, but fans of say, Firedemon are going to think this is pretty tame in comparison. I really just feel indifferent to this band either way. They seem talented and energetic, bit little more than a try harder middle tier act with some Ok moments.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 6th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon