Contra Rationem

Back in 2001, The Netherlands’ Centurian were on the cusp of death metal stardom after releasing their furious second album Liber Zar Zax.  However, the band stalled and disappeared for over a decade. But the members kept sharp and involved with notable acts like Nox, Severe Torture and recently, Infected Flesh. So now, three of the previous members drummer SethVan Der Loo, guitarist Rob Orthuis and bassist Patrick Boleij have enlisted Nox/Prostitute Disfigurement vocalist Niels Adams and unleashed a new album, and the intensity of the band has remained intact.

Bridging the gap between Morbid Angel, Angelcorpse, Krisiun and Behemoth  Centurian plays a relentless, blasting, twisty take on Floridian-ish death metal that’s tightly played and furiously delivered.Even though the album clocks in at a little under half an hour it packs a hell of a punch, with Van Der Loo doing most of the damage.  The Morbid Angel tones are more than obvious with riffs that could have been pulled from Altars of Madness or Blessed are the Sick– I mean just listen to opener “Thou Shalt Bleed for the Lord, Thy God”, “The Will of the Torch” and “Adversus”. The Angelcorpse/Krisiun vibe is due to the merciless speed and pace of the album, and then you get the Behemoth tone via the deep, processed, layered vocals of Adams.

Contra Rationem has no filler and no bullshit- it rips and slices from start to finish, and even though the influences are heavy handed there’s a tightness, confidence and fury that makes the album force you into submission with its tenacity and sharpness. Each track goes for the throat, and while I’m typically turned off by such a single minded approach, the fact is the songs are laced with just enough pacing amid the sonic venom to make it not turn into an exercise in patience. Whether its a militant hyper march or twisting backwards riff (“Judas Among Twelve”, “Feast of the Cross”, “Antinomium”) here or there, the assault is just varied enough to break up the hyperspeed salvo. And the production is crisp and clear, with a mix of clarity and bottom end that mixes the sounds of all the above mentioned influences, so the battery is equal parts razor sharp and pummeling.

If you are looking for a band to pick up the mantle discarded my Morbid Angel, look no further than Centurian who after a 12 year layoff have pulled off a stunning comeback and released the album that Morbid Angel couldn’t release. Killer stuff and one of 2013s early killer death metal releases.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 1st, 2013


  1. Commented by: E. Thomas

    I dont approve anything you try and post whoever you are, but I approved the above comment so everyone can see what a douche juicer you are. you always use a fake email and different user ID (even though the IP is the same few IPs- fact is i dont need your IP address to ID you- your idiotic posts do a fine job of telling its you posting. ). this time you are trying to post as Luke 22- one the staff here, -classy. These guys sound nothing like Weapon aren’t aren’t even the same style you clueless dick hat. just stop.

  2. Commented by: Stiffy

    Lol! Dick hat

  3. Commented by: Angel Cat

    I have not heard their earlier album but I’m listening to the album in question right now and I like it a lot. It’s true that it’s not reinventing the wheel but I appreciate solid death metal and this fits that niche. The very quick guitar solo (wish it was longer) in track three is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP