Red Giant

I’ve been a big fan of Century going back to their self titled EP and Faith & Failure days. The band mix hardcore and a big burly sense of angular but groovy, progressive metal and smart melody to make something that’s a little unique, so I was glad when the band got signed to Prosthetic Records and released Black Ocean back in 2008.

So here is the follow up, and I personally think Red Giant is a nice step up from Black Ocean. Though Carson Slovak  (Armsbendback) has still dropped his gruffer Jan C (Gorefest) vocals , which gave the band even more character, they still deliver an dynamic  modern take on big chunky, post hardcore that comes across like a beefier, catchier version of Misery Signals mixed with Cave In, mid era Poison the Well and to these ears, old school groove metal act Boiler (remember them?).

Though the band will never top the likes of ‘The Fate of Arbogast” or “The Last Neighborhood in America”, they still manage to deliver some exceptional songs that along with the awesome, chunky production courtesy of Ryan Smith (Darkest Hour, Senses Fail, All That Remains) at Sterling Sound make for a entertaining listen. From the energetic opening burst of “Lobotomy”, hefty lurch  of “Oak God” (featuring some clean vocals of Kevin Martin of Candlebox), moody slow burner “In Hell”, and thunderous “Obelisk”, Red Giant is just a damn solid listen.

Strangely though, the album’s best track is a cover song which I would never have found out if it weren’t for the old interwebs; “Painted Leprosy”  is raucous number that is one of the most fun tracks I’ve heard in 2011. Turns out its  a cover song of some Americana/folk singer called Adam Taylor, which is oddly disappointing but kinda cool.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 24th, 2011


  1. Commented by: RT

    I think I like this the best of their albums, they kick some serious ass

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul