The Kiss of Coatlicue

I’ve said it before, I’m saying it now, and ill say it again; I don’t know what the fuck is going on at Mighty Music. Once a bastion for burly European death and black metal, the label is churning out mainstream rock, or just tripe like The Grumpynators, Fried Okra  Band, Franklin Zoo, Bullet Train Blast, See the Sky, Black Book Lodge and Egonaut. I know they have bills to pay but I cant see how these acts are moving more units than some simple death metal.

Luckily, amid the shitstorm, a couple of more acceptable recent releases have managed to just keep the label relevant; French stalwarts No Return, Germany’s promising  Epsilon, Sounds of FuryTomb of Finland, The Vision Ablaze, and this, the debut from France’s Mesoamerican inspired Chabtan.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s some sort of analogy I can use about getting something acceptable when everything else is crap I can use here, as Chabtan are by no means world beaters, but compared to some of the garbage listed above this is Mozart. But what Chabtan do, is deliver is pretty solid form of modern melodic death metal/00s metal core that reminds me of later, more melodic Heaven Shall Burn (i.e Veto).

It’s beefy, it’s got some some nice oomph, it’s got some solid grooves , some gravelly vocals and some decent blasts here and there. A smatter of synths and the aforementioned Mesoamerican elements make it interesting. Heck, there’s even a couple of rousing songs such as “Born from Vucub Caquix” or closer “Visions of the Snake” that I actually rather enjoyed. But for the most part the band rage and thrash with energy and aplomb on the likes of “Ixtab”  or “Anthropomorphic Beast” (Where I really heard Heaven Shall Burn) and they even get a little more progressive and adventurous on the likes of “Ah Puch Reign” and “Reptile”.

Again, with Mighty’s slim pickings, I’m getting some enjoyment from a  relatively medicore album, but I cant deny a couple of the above songs got my foot tapping rather than rolling my eyes or gagging as the bands in the opening paragraph. PLEASE let the new Brutality album get here.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 30th, 2015


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP