Recast Gear for the Mindcraft Course

This review is two firsts for me- first review of Russia’s Haarbn Productions (a long running but un prolific label) and a band from the country of Moldova, Chordewa named after a Bengali form of Vampire. But it won’t be the last for either as Haarbn’s latest (Sawlegen, Sand Aura, Narjahanam), releases is solid and it’s headed by this stellar debut of progressive, experimental black -ish metal.

There’s no debating the band’s  primary influence as it pretty obvious within three minutes of the opening track “Psyche in the Shell”- crisp, convoluted but  intelligently crafted elegant riffage , smooth tinkling piano and synths, black rasps and svelte , Garm -ish clean croons; Arcturus and specifically The Sham Mirrors.  And it’s not very subtle either, but it is done everso well and with just enough of the band’s own character to not be considered  rip off, and much rather an apt homage.

And while some of the label’s recent releases seem ethnically focused or driven, there’s no immediate cultural influences on Recast Gear for the Mindcraft Course, as it’s purely derived from their Norwegian peers sphere of musical influences rather than geography. Second track “Mindcraft Course” has the jumbled circus like aura with its playful piano and stammering drums before “The Spiral” and “Transcope”  saunter in with more choppy but svelte strums and percussion, reeling you in to their cosmic world, though the lyrics focus more on mind alteration and not the stars.

If you need further cementing of the Arcturus mood, look no further than 5th track, “My Kinetic Abstract” with just a gorgeous little vocal bridge round 4:30 and this track actually along with the albums stellar closer “Agonist” close the album out brilliantly with a real sense of solid song writing within the band’s chosen influence. Highly recommended if you are Arcturus fan or even if you simply want to hear some great music.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 4th, 2014


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP