Christ Inversion
Christ Inversion

This turned out to be quite a surprise. Completely unaware of this super group’s origins, I expecting something of a generic, tin can sounding black metal record. I was definitely wrong on that one. Upon opening the jewel case liner, two VERY notable names jumped out at me. Phil Anselmo being involved took me a little by surprise, taking up the guitar and backing vocal duties. Tommy Buckley of Soilent Green and Crowbar fame takes up the drums. Lead vocals are done by former Necrophagia drummer Wayne Fabra. Despite the collective resources of these members, Christ Inversion never came up with a debut, and disbanded long ago. This album is their first demo, remastered.

Though they were clearly leaning towards a classic black metal mentality, this album comes across as something more. First off, it’s much more a Venom type of black metal than anything else. It has a traditional feel to it, but still manages to bring more to the table. The atmosphere is great. Sort of a black and white satanic horror film feel. Dark and gritty with plenty of cheesy keyboards and classic film samples. But don’t get me wrong, it’s cheesy in the best way, the kind that makes you grin and bob your head.

Opener “Prudent To The Thrones of God” totally sprayed me with some acidic blackened death metal venom right away. Vocals are raspy, pissed off and distorted. The production is actually quite good, with plenty of bottom and grit, but still clear and focused (to an extent). It’s clear these guys care about atmosphere above all else. The last minute or so is this great slow churning riff with some misty keyboards over it. And the rest of the album follows suit.

“Obey The Will of Hell” drips with utter vehemence. Slower riffing is no stranger to this outfit, and it works wonders, especially right after some of that fast and frantic stuff. “Lucifer Rise” continues with the foggy horror film atmosphere. It’s ominous and brooding, with some Akercocke like vocals. They take some time too, as this track tops 6 minutes, and the end gets pretty maniacal.

Exorcist samples are no stranger to this album, as “Enochian Tongues” opens with the backwards talking one. This track also shows off Anselmo’s southern roots, but never really breaks the mood. In fact a lot of the riffing has a distinctive southern edge, if only slightly. It works well and just adds more flavor to the mix.

All in all, it’s hard to find anything wrong with this album. It does exactly what it sets out to, so who can complain? I really enjoy this shit, and I’m glad it got to see daylight, if 13 years later.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Belgarath
January 24th, 2009


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu