Cognitive is an up and coming young band from New Jersey, playing death metal that is of the brutal variety with a strong emphasis on technicality.  Their self released 2012 ep, The Horrid Swarm is an incredible piece of Tri-State area brutality.  They have finally secured a record deal with Spanish label, Pathologically Explicit Recordings; they have some new members that joined in 2013 and now Cognitive is ready to take it to the next level, but did they on their debut album?  You bet your ass they did.

Album opener, ‘Cut the Fuck Up’ comes out the starting gates in brutal fashion with brutal blasts and some well placed slams, not unlike Dehumanized.  At the 2 minute mark, there is the technical aspect, a slow part with some killer bass guitar playing from newcomer Art Sikora.  His bass playing is all over this album, and at times the comparisons to Obscura come through. Due to this part, this is only meant as a compliment, since Obscura is one of the best at technical death metal.  ‘Blood Hungry’ begins with a killer groove and very memorable riff. New singer, Jorel Hart, really adding depth in the vocal department on this album with his lows and highs.  The guitar work of Rob Wharton and Jake Iannaco cannot go unmentioned.  These bastards have been really practicing a lot creating unreal guitar parts that pull you into their swirling vortex smashing you into smithereens.  Anyway this song has some progressive elements thrown in with some off kilter signature time changes that will keep you on your toes.  The start/stop riffing right before the 2.30 mark is punishing.  Mike Castro coming through with some tight blast beats as well, leveling all in its path.  Just bashing the crap out of the drums.

‘Imbuing of Wrath’ begins with a great blast beat and some slap happy bass guitar playing.  A little Whitechapel influence in the vocal department at times, during the 1 minute mark.  The 1.40 part with the riff, before the blast, literally made me get up and begin to pick up a few trucks and hurl them around like Godzilla does to cities.  The guitar parts come through really nice on this song.  ‘Fire From the Sky’ is another outstanding song.  Those technical elements coming through perfectly at the one and a half minute part.  Beautiful guitar parts with raging double bass drums, killer solos and nice bass guitar moments.  Than it’s back into a ferocious blast. Some older The Faceless moments come through on this album too, which is a plus, for me. This is one of the finest tunes Cognitive has ever done and my god the production on this cd is amazing.  Joe Cincotta, from Full Force Studios, has helped make this one of the best sounding pieces, ever, from his studio.   Check out the incredible album cover too, goes along with their lyrical content and it’s very eye catching, courtesy of Tony Koehl.

 Not sure what technical death metal album is gonna top this for 2014.  Cognitive has unleashed their self titled debut album that is here to topple, destroy and collapse entire neighborhoods worldwide.  You have been warned folks-one of the most powerful, well done & memorable tech death metal albums released in the last several years.  Buy or Die!!!!!!!
[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
May 6th, 2014


  1. Commented by: E. Thomas

    This is good shit. reminds me of the Mortal Decay and Necrotic Disgorgement from last year

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge