Recursive Definitions of Suppuration

The day I stop getting excited about new releases and debuts from bands, I have never heard, is the day I stop writing – I would assume.  Once I saw this new band, Consumption advertised as a mix of classic Swedish buzzsaw death metal and Carcass’, best album imo, Symphonies of Sickness, I was like, I am SOLD!!!  Consumption has Jon Skäre on drums and Håkan Stuvemark on vox/guitars/bass.  Håkan is also connected to Henry Kane and Wombbath so with that being said you know damn well this mofo knows how to write.

Recursive Definitions of Suppuration is the debut album name and it’s brief – 8 songs in 28 minutes.  “Fermented Tissue” starts with an old school Carcass drum roll and the dual vocals do have a bit of an older Carcass tinge, especially the lower sections, influenced by Bill Steer.  The guitars are super thick and the song breaks into a galloping 90’s death metal speed, then slows down and some nice guitar melodies.  More of that older Carcass style drumming with the guitars really having the Symphonies… tinge.  The song breaks into a slower moment as well and a nice little guitar solo towards the end of the track.  Killer opener.

“Infectus Exteriorisation” has quite the opening guitar riff, as it’s isolated, and then the drums and vocals come right into this groove moment.  If there was a pit I would be swinging like there was no tomorrow!  The song picks up some speed, then into the 90’s death metal galloping speed.  The layered vocals sound killer and with Håkan doing the different styles back n forth, it’s like 2 different vocalists.  The song has some more guitar soloing, so it’s good Consumption has a bit of a melodic edge to them.  Then that isolated riff comes back in and then right into the heavy slow part.  Then right back into the 90’s gallop.  This song is one of my absolute favorites too and throw in some Impetigo influence as well with the burpy stylized vocals.

The band name song, “Consumption”, starts fast n furious and some nice growls thrown in to lop your pathetic head off.  This song has some nice blasting going on and then straight into slower moments with some cool drum and cymbal patterns.  More of the gurgly and raspy vocals making this very dynamic and cool bass guitar moments.  The blasting parts really make this an intense song.  The placement of the song in the track order was a great choice.  “Ictus Cordis” closes out the album with a cool croaking style growl and then right into more of the mid-paced heaviness which takes up the abundance of this album.  There are some faster passages as well.

The album cover for Recursive Definitions of Suppuration is pure death metal with the rotting corpse, rats and skeletons.  I love the orange color on the logo and in other areas as well.  The production is great.  Heavy, thick and you can make out the catchy guitar riffs.  This may have some homages to the above bands and style as I previously mentioned but this still sounds fresh and most of all fucking heavy.  As I write this Håkan has already told me he already has the follow-up written.  He is a monster writer.

Recursive Definitions of Suppuration is such a great debut album that I keep going back to over and over again.  Memorable, well written, heavy and most of all a headbanging monster of a death metal album.  This album came out of nowhere and now I cannot imaging not having it.  Buy or Die!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
November 4th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu