Muay Thai Ladyboys

First off, I will not mention that guitarist/vocalist Paulo posts on a message board I frequent (damn).

Second off, I have to say that the artwork for Muay Thai Ladyboys by Scott Porterfield, is absolutely fucking fantastic. Unfold the inlay for a surprise that’s like John Baizley artwork (Baroness, Darkest Hour), but felched through the opium drenched rectum of a teenage Thai she male. And that’s not to mention the surprise on the actual CD itself…A word to the wise if you have children, don’t leave this CD laying around on your desk….

On to the music; much revered in the New York underground since 2001, Copremesis are is a super gutteral yet surprisingly technical death/goregrind band that has the super deep vocal belches and occasional heft and groove of The Day Everything Became Nothing/Cock and Ball Torture mixed with the nastier deathgrind pinch harmonics of say Malignancy (whose Danny Nelson makes a guest appearance on the album), all wrapped up in the expected sexual perversion and depravity of gore grind.

The thing is, it never comes across as immature, B movie bullshit, despite the themes and cavernous tone-it comes across as really well done goregrind with the skill level, underlying complexity and ability of a true technical death metal band rather than mindless noise and groove with scat humor thrown in for good measure. It’s almost like they are poking fun at gorefrind. Granted, the super low, unintelligible grunts make the lyrics fall by the wayside, but musically Copremesis seem to have developed from their humorous sample laden demo days into more than a gimmick goregrind act into a truly impressive, almost serious, well lubed and brutal ass rape of a band; solos and all, despite the bands stage antics.

With songs hovering between 2-3 minutes, this is not an album of short spurts, but actual, developed songs starting with the bowel prolapsing opening of the title track and it’s hilarious Thai vocal, injection through the cavernous vomit of “Bestial Castration”, crawling Autopsy like ooze that starts “Zombies”, ending groove and solo that closes out “In Silence…. Revel in Madness”,  to  the huge lurch of “Mad” this is a damn good album. Though I could have done without the 30 or so minutes of silence in closer “Tetsuo” after the Vomit Remnants cover. Still, this is one of the most accomplished goregrind releases I’ve been exposed to, and I’m not just saying that to pander to a message board peanut gallery…..

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 19th, 2008


  1. Commented by: swampthang

    In the movie Dirty Sanchez(like jackass) the dudes have to make out with muay thai ladyboys shits funny. oh ya what are pinch harmonix?

  2. Commented by: Erik Thomas
  3. Commented by: axiom

    This sounds like a winner. I’m kinda new to the gore grind style, but want some killer chops rather than all gimmickry.

  4. Commented by: xBenx

    Great album and the Vomit Remnants cover smokes.

  5. Commented by: swampthang

    cool thx for info ET

  6. Commented by: Dan Zidar

    Great band!!!

  7. Commented by: Buck Entriken

    Thanks pal. That was special knowing

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP