Cryptic Brood
Outcome of Obnoxious Science

They say imitation is the greatest form of flattery. If that’s the case Chris Reifert and Autopsy should be flattered as fuck by this German trio and their second full length album, Outcome of Obnoxious Science.

If you like Autopsy and their sinewy oozing ilk like Slaugterday (also from Germany), Nailgun Massacre, Obliteration, Execration and such , then this 38 minute slab of filth is for you as it delivers the same crawly, slightly doomy, death metal with a few blast beats thrown in. The vocals are but different than Reifert’s though with these being done by Steffan Brandes (who ironically also drums) and guitarist Michale Lehner. They are not as moist and sickly, with one being a more gruff death metal bellow and and the other being  a more higher pitched rasp, but they both work and fit.

But the scrawling Autopsy riffs are spot on. With a throbbing bass and gristly riffs that focus on creepy shambling moods. The reeking Autopsy influence comes through loud and clear in all the tracks , but most heavily in the likes of opener “Biting Through Flesh” (with a cool late song romp) , “Wading Through Remains”, “Haunted by Nightmarish Visions”, “Coated With Human Skin”.

And even when the trio spews forth one of the blast beats or more punky uptempo riffs, it’s usually perfectly sloppy, short lived and mired in between sickly crawls as heard in the title track, “Harrowing Hallucinations”, ” Mantled with the Stench of Death” “Slaves of Hypnotic Commands” and my personal favorite “Ferocious Torment”.

In all a solid, Autopsy worshiping release that checks all the sloppy, icky boxes.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 29th, 2020


  1. Commented by: F.Rini

    Erik-you nailed this review. I loved their debut and this follow-up is excellent. Great obscure reference to Nailgun Massacre(RIP)who were great. \m/

  2. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Nailgun Massacre are RIP???? dang it

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kalmah - Kalmah
  • VHS - The Quest for the Mighty Riff
  • Vorna - Aamunkoi
  • Dawn of Ouroboros  - Velvet Incandescence
  • Vomitheist - NekroFuneral
  • Frozen Soul - Glacial Domination
  • Pronostic - Chaotic Upheaval
  • Nightmarer - Deformity Adrift
  • Runemagick - Beyond the Cenotaph of Mankind
  • Atavistia - Cosmic Warfare
  • Immortal - War Against All
  • Kouta - Kaarnaköydet
  • Oak - Disintegrate
  • Fires In The Distance - Air Not Meant For Us
  • Unearth - The Wretched; The Ruinous