Cult of the Dragon

“Sieg Hail Satan”, that says it all. This is slow and heavy keep it simple stupid style self proclaimed true Norwegian black metal with a loud bass with a heavy rumble and chug along guitars. Tom Warrior grunts and roaring vocals round out what fast period Marduk would call a ballad. Lyrics are standard fare, satan, vile, hate, evil. Some examples for your amusement include “we are the voices of evil”, “chaos and terror”, “kill kill kill yourself”, “genocide genocide”, along with various shrieks and groans. And yes I can understand every work on first listen.

They have managed to capture the old stripped down style, but their version is a bit overly repetitive and lacks any flourishes or embellishments that would grab your attention. I like the sound quality, especially the guitar sound, and I am appreciative of the effort, you have got to start somewhere, and I’m glad they started with 1984. It is nice to know these guys are paying attention, check back in a few years for their next album, meanwhile they are well on their way to being an entertaining act. The world needs bands like this to keep us tied to our roots. This disc has lots of familiar ideas and younger fans that did not get to see first wave bands play live in their prime should check out Deathcult. Saying that, I hope they perform live.

Now that you have read this far I’ll tell you who is involved. Herr Ekkel of Gaahlskagg and Taake, Hoest of Ragnarok and Taake, Thurzur of Gaahlskagg and Taake, and Collaborators include Dirge Rep (Enslaved, Gehenna), Vrangsinn (Carpathian Forest, Hatepulse), Svartulv (Taake, Gigantomachy). If I had told you that up front you would not have needed to read the review.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
July 18th, 2008


  1. Commented by: Cynicgods

    Hahaha so right, if I had read at the start of the review these guys released this album I would’ve wanted it immediately.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu