Organic Hallucinocis

The first time I put in this record it was my first experience with Decapitated. This very young band from Poland has created some major hype since their first release Winds of Creation in 2000. And even though this was my first Decapitation album, I sensed the stir in the death metal world over this caustic Polish outfit consisting of members barely out of high school. They’ve released quality metal and kept people craving for more.

2006 comes in with Organic Hallucinosis and Decapitated beats the living shit out of us with some ferocious, technical death metal. It’s gonna be quite a feat to top the skills of this band, and I doubt you will find a tighter album this year. What makes Decapitated unique is the precision. Chainsaw riffs complimented with machine-gun blasting is the name of the game and it’s fucking tight. Solos are executed fast and furious and are reminiscent of Kerry King. The crystal clear production helps, but another formidable factor about Organic Hallucinosis is that it still sounds raw and gritty in its own right. Stop and go riffs slam you like a Chuck Norris roundhouse kick to the temple, and are unrelenting.

This is a group of pissed-off kids with enough energy to climb to the top of the charts. Day 69 is my favorite track. Inhuman drumming bashes your cranium like falling rock from mountains, followed by tremelo picking that sounds like a motorcycle burning rubber over your face. I seriously can’t describe this record without emphasizing the sonic ass beating.

A new vocalist has entered the brutal picture who goes by the name Adrian “Covan” Kowanek (Ex-Atrophia Red Sun). This guy is a nice addition to the band, but doesn’t bring anything new or outstanding to the table. The problem I have with Covan is his monotone, closed mouth grunts. He opens wide once in “Day 69” for a higher pitched scream. I wish he would repeat this more often and offer the listener more range. Even though the music is quite impressive, Covan’s barking grunts of constipation get old after a few tracks and becomes downright tedious after 7. He’s got the voice, and it doesn’t ruin the record, but there is room for improvement. A band this good can go even further with the right vocal delivery. Nevertheless, he is a nice addition to the band and I see nothing but domination for this band in the future!

I’d like to break this album down track by track but honestly, this is just one non-stop technical ride everyone should take. It’s machine-like in execution, and it’s on top of 2006. Go get it!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shane Wolfensberger
April 23rd, 2006


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death