Decaying Purity
Mass Extinction of the Providential Ones

I have thoroughly enjoyed Turkey’s brutal death metal act, Decaying Purity’s previous three releases and their fourth one Mass Extinction of the Providential Ones is on pace with yet another long album name, as well as more brutality to knock the COVID right outta ya.

9 songs in 32 minutes and “Darkness Falling Down Through the Skies” starts off with some nice drum rolls before the mid-paced rumbling spews forth with monster double bass action then right into the faster blasts.  Serkan Niron has remained the band’s vocalist since the beginning and still sounds as guttural and putrid as ever.  The band has had a stable line-up therefore by now creating their brand of death metal is second nature to them.  More blasting and super great growls.  Serkan will reach some higher register screams but he really enjoys belting out the lows.  A little layered vocal action had me thinking Deicide and some of the blasting will remind you of early Suffocation, at points.

“Storms of Chaos” starts with some souls from hell or people burning alive sounds and then right into a super growl and mid-paced bashing that goes right into the blast beats.  More mid-paced action before alternating between the blasts and these moments fit in excellently.  More guttural brutality and I noticed a little pinch harmonic action going on to lop that head off your worthless stump.  Serkan gets even lower with his growls during the slower section and then right into a real nice long scream before the isolated guitar riff comes in, some nice drum rolls and then right back into the blasting madness.  More Suffo like blasting and then some melodic riffing.

“Eternal Wish of Death” starts with more blasting and super tight as well.  Onur is one fast drummer.  Some slower sections and then right back into more of blasting.  The slower section goes right into a mid-paced moment with thunderous double bass, then back n forth with the blast beats.

The rest of the songs have the same style and certainly “The Vicious Circle of Punishment” has some pummeling guitar riffing going on.  Although I mentioned certain above influences Decaying Purity has stayed true to their sound and style on Mass Extinction of the Providential Ones.  They actually have their own sound, to a degree, with a fairly original guitar sound-that is distinct enough that when I listen to them I know they’re trying something different.  This is not quite up there as their previous album Malignant Resurrection of the Fallen Souls, which was released in 2014-I love that album and cover to death.  The artwork on this new album is mediocre at best with the big sword wielding demon coming across as a bit cheesy.  The cd booklet is well designed with lyrics, photos-really looks great.  The production is very good and by now Decaying Purity are comfortable with their style.  It’s straight-forward brutal death metal.  They mix in several mid-paced moments, but then go right into hyper-blast mode.  I do think it would be beneficial for them to start to expand a little more with some slower moments where they can return to a memorable riff multiple times, let it breathe and not be so ready to go into a blast beat.

Mass Extinction of the Providential Ones is a solid death metal album from Decaying Purity and please like their FB page and go on Sevared Records and order the format of your choice and a shirt.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
July 16th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal