Norway’s Deception returns with their second full-length album Daenacteh. I have been a fan of Deception since their last record The Mire (2019). I was also pleased earlier in the year to find out that their guitarist vocalist Sindre Wathne Johnsen is now the new vocalist for Blood Red Throne. For those not familiar with Deception they play a style of symphonic, technical, melodic death metal that goes all over the place. “Sulphur Clouds” opens things up and is an absolute banger. One thing that is noticeable off the bat is that the symphonic elements are more distinct, and the guitar arrangements are still incredibly groovy but with a lot more melodic elements.

“King of Salvation” has some fantastic hooks from start to finish. They have such meticulous arrangements. At times they can remind me of a band like Keep of Kalessin and then on a flip of a dime they can whip out heavy Morbid Angel-type riffs. Having been around since 2012 you can hear the maturity of their songwriting and ability to keep pushing themselves. They mention on their bio Wintersun, and Septic Flesh being influences which I can hear at times. “Iblis’ Mistress” opens with a piano instrumental part that reminds a bit of Fleshgod Apocalypse. They do a fantastic job segueing it into the opening riff of the song. I was not expecting the ode to Tobin Abasi (The Faceless, Animals as Leaders) breakdown towards the end of the track. The guitar work of Johnsen and Hans Bjorheim is relentless.

I have listened to this album three to four times now start to finish, and I keep finding new things in each track that impress me. The production is top notch and I truly hope they get over to the United States soon to support this album. “Assailants” opens with some Middle Eastern flared vibrato grooves. The breakdown towards the end of the track has a very machine-like Decapitated vibe. The drum work of Einar Petersen is stellar. The title track “Monophobic” is up next and is another one of my favorite tracks on the album and has also of elements that remind of a heavier Emperor. The vocals have more of a black metal sound to them. “Dhariyan” is another notable example of the Middle Eastern influence on the guitar section. This is the second longest track on the album at a little over seven minutes and has some of the best lead work on the album is on this one.

“Be Headed Your Way” continues the riff onslaught and is one of the more aggressive tracks on Daenacteh. “Daughters of The Desert” finishes the album and is the longest track at almost eleven minutes. There is so much going on with this record. This one has a nice melodic break and then an orchestration outro breakdown which is a cool way to end the album. Deception has such a strong presentation with their song arrangements that they are really on their own level. I know we are early in 2024 but this is a current front-runner for album of the year for me. If you like incredibly polished symphonic technical death metal, then you would do yourself a favor in taking some time out of your day to check out this fantastic group.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
April 10th, 2024


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu