The Mire

Well, here is something fun in 2021 I was not expecting.   Hailing from Stavanger Norway Deception play a hybrid stay of technical, melodic death thrash.   As crazy as this sounds.  Picture Yyrkoon mixed Darkane.   Originally called The Art of Deception, The Mire is Deception’s third full length.   Clocking in at over 47 minutes these guys waste very little time in let you know they are an incredibly riff forward band.

Tracks like “Return of the Baphomet” really show off the aggression and their melodic sensibilities with symphonic parts added to bring out certain sections.   The guitar tandem of Sindre Johnsen and Hans Bjorheim are incredibly locked in throughout the whole album.  Drummer Einar Petersen does an excellent job of making his presence felt with excellent percussion work.

The Mire is to me for 2021 what Cult of Lilith’s Mara was for 2020.  You have this incredibly tight group that have these arrangements that are incredibly polished and make you wonder why the band is not on a bigger label.  “Sudden Infant Death Syndrome” is an excellent example of this and comparison in they both share similar groovy elements.   The more I listen to this the more I am surprised that Deception are not on a bigger label.  “Grasp of Lilith” might have hookiest intro on the album.  The amount of groove and harmony balance on album over all is killer.

“Acid Reflux” is probably the heaviest song on album and opens with some great tension building chugs before transitioning into a sick down picked pattern.  They list Blood Red Throne and Hypocrisy as influences which is true throughout album and on tracks like “Excavation/Burial of A Child”.  The leadwork on this track is outstanding and the outro of it is also gorgeous. The last track “Asphyxia” is the longest track on album at over ten minutes.  Overall, this is an excellent album and one to get your hands on.  I cannot talk up how much I continue to enjoy the album.   Must have.  Now to find their whole back catalog.  Enjoy

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
April 15th, 2021


  1. Commented by: Erik Thomas

    Fuck this is good, beefy melodic and symphonic. Immediate order. Reminds me of the Abstrackt i did a while ago or heavier meadows end mixed with soreption. Thanks Nick!

  2. Commented by: J. Mays

    I’m really feeling that Darkane reference. This kicks ass, Nick!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal