The Oblivious Lure

Wow! I know I talk up Everlasting Spew Records quite a bit when I review their artists but I cannot help it. They put out such amazing releases! The trend doesn’t stop with Italian brutal tech death metallers Demiurgon and their 2019 2nd full length album The Oblivious Lure. It has been four years since these guys released their debut full length Above the Unworthy and boy is it worth the wait!

Kicking things off with “Tsansas” these guys waste year time in absolutely pummeling the listener with some top notch brutal technical death metal. Vocalist Stefano Borchani demonstrates excellent control of his pissed off, intense gurgling vocals that are complemented by the sick drum work of Riccardo Benedini. There are well placed gravity blasts all over the place! I would compare the sound of these guys to if Internal Suffering, Cryptopsy and early Origin got thrown into a blender.
Clocking at a 40 minute run time this is a great length for this style of death metal.

With exception of opening track most of the tracks are in between five to five and half minutes. “I shall tell you where we are. We’re in the most extreme and utter region of the human mind. A dim, subconscious underworld. A radiant abyss where men meet themselves. Hell, Netley. We’re in Hell.” Is the quote from the awesome sample before the title track of this album. “The Oblivous Lure” is one of the slower tracks on the album and to me has the heaviness of Gallery of Suicide era Cannibal Corpse.

The last track on the album, “They Day Dawn Came Twice” is an incredibly strong finisher. The guitar work of Emanuele Ottani and Dani Benincasa is fantastic throughout the whole record but they close with a very strong display of variation from the rest of the tracks of on the album in the way that it finishes. Harmonized dive bombs into continued, frenzied fret board work. In a continually growing world of Italian Death Metal you are going to have your bands that set standards like: Hour of Penance, Hideous Divinity, and Blasphemer. Demiurgon is staking their claim towards the upper echelon of their countries death metal food chain with this release. Highly recommended. One of the best of 2019 so far. Incredibly over the top and catchy. Well done!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
September 24th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death