Demon King
The Final Tyranny EP

Well, Well! 2021 is getting started with some pretty fun metal releases right off the bat.   Founded by former members of Enfold Darkness the Final Tyranny wastes zero time in getting the listener’s attention with opening track Tyrannical Reign of the Deceiver.” The opening drum fill leads to a very aggressive beginning of a very entertaining sixteen-minute ep. Musically Demon King are no nonsense Symphonic technical black death metal.  The guitar work of Matt Brown is incredibly melodic and the work of Jack Blackburn on drums is incredibly up-tempo.  It is a fun mix. The Artisan Era is pretty consistent with the artists that they find and they have struck gold again with these blackened shredders.

“Invoking the Spirit of Chaos” continues the EP with similar aggression of the intro track.  This is material is incredibly well layered and the mix and production are dead on for the style.  I wish there was more than sixteen minutes.  The bass playing of Malcolm Pugh adds a third layer that makes his presence known from start to finish.   This track has a bit of a Dark Funeral vibe towards the three-minute mark and then goes an interesting outro bridge that builds out quite nicely. The fretboard work is insane and the solos are pretty tasteful. These guys sound like they have been jamming together for a while as this feels more so like an effort of a group that has released albums already.

Get ready for the hair whips. “Transmutation of the Artilect” is my favorite track on this.  The guitar rhythms and blast beat sections are nuts.  There is a lot going on through these four songs.  Demon king clearly put a lot of meticulous work into these arrangements.  “The Watcher, Wreathed in Flames” is definitely the most aggressive song and a great way to finish this.   I am excited to hear how these guys progress and grow into their sound.  If you are into Black Dahlia Murder, Epoch of Unlight, Dimmu Borgir, and Abigor then this might be for you. An excellent first effort and one I would put early on my favorite EP’s of 2021. Check this one out for sure!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
January 29th, 2021


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal