Denial Fiend
They Rise

Now this is a fun record! Great, old school Thrash Metal with a Horror film lyrical slant! This is a record you pop in the car and crank LOUD! They Rise is loaded with tons of meaty, neck wrenching riffs, jagged vocals and an overall energetic vibe. In a lot of ways, it reminds me of Deceased both in feel & execution, but it’s not an obvious aping.

From song to song, this album delivers a very consistent & varied flow of Metal. This is not a record that begs dissection as everything is in your face and unmistakable. Even the song titles leave very little to the imagination. “Flesheater”, “Return To The Tombs Of The Cursed Blind Dead”, “Ripped Inside Out”, “Cover Me In Blood”…pretty self explanatory. This is by no means a deterrent, quite the opposite. It’s refreshing to have a band be so blunt.

The funny thing is that had this album come out 20 years ago, Denial Fiend would be Thrash Metal cult legends today. As it is, this is a fun side project (with members of Massacre, Six Feet Under & Death) that deserves way more attention than it’s likely to get.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
October 5th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death