Ninewinged Serpent

One of Sweden’s latest metal exports, Devian features the former members of Marduk, Legion (vocals) and Emil Dragutinovic(drums). Their debut offering for Century Media, Ninewinged Serpent is a blistering platter of extreme metal, combining elements of black, death, thrash and even a good dose of traditional metal.

From a musical standpoint, Ninewinged Serpent is essentially thrashy melodic death metal – thrash riffs, melodic leads, aggressive drumming with some blasting and lots of double bass, and raspy though largely understandable black metal styled vocals. While the term “melodic death metal” will immediately turn many away, this isn’t your typical Gothenburg affair – Ninewinged Serpent is a much more (I hate to use this word, but it works) brutal, dark and grim monster, never ‘lightening’ the mood or introducing ‘happy’ melodies, opting to keep the outlook bleak and ferocious.

Devian may not stray far from their chosen sound, but there’s just enough diversity here keep a listener interested from track to track – whether it be the flat out intensity of the title track and it’s vicious chorus, (“I fucked your faith as a Ninewinged Serpent”); the eerie sounding intro of “Gemini is the Snake”; how “Instigator” starts and ends with spectacular solo work; the opening groove-based riff of “Scarred” or how “Dressed in Blood” pummels you from beginning to end – there is plenty for one to sink their teeth into.

Ninewinged Serpent may not be the freshest or most original slab of metal out there right now, but it’s executed superbly, and well, kicks ass from front to back, and the wide array of influences should be enough to hook metal fans of all types. All in all, Ninewinged Serpent is a fine debut offering.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
February 20th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death