Dew-Scented are one of those bands that I feel I should be raving about, but for whatever reason I’ve never made it past casual fan status. They’re brand of modern death/thrash should be right up my alley, sharing many similarities to bands I love such as The Crown or Hatesphere, but I can’t quite pinpoint what it is that keeps me from returning. I’ve enjoyed each new album to some degree, giving it a handful or two of spins, then putting it aside, forgotten. New slab Invocation looks to be no different, despite a fairly impressive selection of riffs and general ass kicking.

Keeping with their tradition of album titles starting with the letter ‘I’, Invocation opens with a short acoustic instrumental that seemingly has nothing in common with the rest of the album. I’ve never understood the need for things like this, but whatever. From here, they promptly launch into their mostly blistering, sometimes grooving, death laced thrashing full of fleet fingered solos, booming double bass and dry, raspy barks. This is where their biggest drawback resides – after a few songs, it all turns into a blind mush of samey material – the songs don’t have enough differentiating them from one another to stand on their own. In an attempt to break things up a bit, they included one of those short mid album interludes, this time a much more melodic and anthemic sounding piece that recalls recent Kreator. It would’ve worked much better as a full song I think, but a tease is all we get.

None-the-less, the album is not without a couple moments that brought me out of my stupor to full attention. Early tracks “Arise and Decay” and “The Invocation” work well to get the blood pumping and the head banging. A couple tracks later we get a killer main riff in “Condemnation” which put my horns in the air, likewise with “Revel in Contempt” a bit further down the line.

Invocation is by no means a bad album, but it’s not gonna set the thrash world on fire either. It’s one of those enjoyable if unspectacular albums you can put of with a group of friends while knocking back some suds to mindlessly bang your head around to without putting much thought into it. Decent but non-essential.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
August 17th, 2010


  1. Commented by: Blackwater Park

    This review is spot on Larry. I couldn’t agree more.

  2. Commented by: faust666

    I feel exactly the same way about this album and band.. I could have sworn both Staylow and BP were part of the Dew Scented slobbering party over at the other website.. Very odd…

  3. Commented by: Staylow

    I was slobbering a bit at the other site when I first heard it, but as usual, it didn’t last long. Solid, just not outstanding.

  4. Commented by: Blackwater Park

    I’ve never been a huge slobberer for these guys. I like them and think the album is good, but they are no Haunted thats for sure.

  5. Commented by: faust666

    Well, get ready for some flak over there from the Dew Scented fanboy association.. I’m going to listen to the record once again to see if that changes my opinion of it.. highly unlikely though.

  6. Commented by: Apollyon

    Inwards was pretty ok, the rest haven’t caught my interest at all. Think I won’t be missing out on anything by skipping this as well.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock