From the usually more death metal based Blast Head Records comes the debut from Denver’s Doperunner and its blistering mix of punk, grindcore and sleezy, Southern blackened sludge. It’s a volatile, fun release that plays like a mix of Nausea, Soilent Green and Eyehategod or Iron Monkey.

The 14 grindcore length tracks deliver an ample blend of power cord riffs and gruff bellows with sauntering, sludgy grooves and high pitched shrieks. It’s a quick (22 minutes), riotous listen that cover both styles very well and is chock full of vitriol and sludge. From the opener “Dead Alive”, which delivers a murky groove an simply ripping final few seconds to pure, grinding closer “Eat. Work. Sleep. Shit”, the album is a full on assault of riffs, growls, lurches and screams that’s rather short, satisfying and simple in 2014 deluge of tech death or OSDM.

The production is crisp and clean, maybe too clean for some of the dirtier, doomier moments, which could use a little more ick and distortion but it works overall. The balance of furious, punk infused grind (“Business as Usual”, “Mechanical Separation”, “Knuckledragger”, “Vegan For Status”) which would make Mitch Harris proud, collides well with slower, Southern tinged crawls like “Smutpeddler”, “Specific Gravity” and “Relentless”( though I wish there was a few more or a more lengthy dirge),  to create an album that is actually somewhat unique in 2014.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 18th, 2014


  1. Commented by: Holly

    Love my bros. This band is sick! Always a great pit and mega energy!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kataan - Kataan EP
  • Feculent - The Grotesque Arena EP
  • Dead World Reclamation - Aura of Iniquity
  • Wythersake - Antiquity
  • Cambion - Conflagrate the Celestial Refugium
  • Mistweaver - Swansong
  • Beekeeper - Slaves to the Nothing
  • The Monolith Deathcult   - V3 - Vernedering
  • Agent Steel - No Other Godz Before Me
  • Vallendusk - Heralds of Strife
  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP
  • Becerus - Homo Homini Brutus
  • Zaratus - In The Days of Whore
  • Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes of Emptiness