Down Among the Dead Men
...And You Will Obey Me

Ill keep short and sweet, like the 11 songs on the third album from Dave Ingram (ex-Benediction, Ursinne, Echelon, Just Before Dawn) and Rogga Johannson ( too fucking many to type). Much like their prior two albums (2013s self titled debut and 2015s Exterminate! Annihilate! Destroy!) … And You Will Obey Me is a more crust/d beat  driven take on both members former and current death metal projects.

With the back bone of Benediction and Rogga ‘s numerous projects (namely Ribspreader and Revolting’s catchy romps)  Down Among the Dead Men isn’t a game changer  as its a simple direct affair with little deviation from a formula that both members have perfected over the years. But that veteran duo (helped out by long time Johannson collaborators Kjetil Lynghaug and Erik Bevenrud on lead guitar and drums respectively) have a confidence and skill set that allows them to write and deliver this stuff in their sleep and it still be top notch.

A nice, beef guitar tone carries the punchy, punky power chord driven and d beat riffs with effective heft and power and the songs themselves deviate little from the formula. None of the tracks really stand out but the likes of “The End of Time”, “Omega” and “The Age of Steel”  have a catchy but feral, no nonsense neck snapping satisfaction. Ingram sounds as good as he did in the 90s on albums like The Grand Leveller , and Johansson just keeps coming up with riff after riff despite being in 258 bands and projects.

Later on the album, a couple of more restrained numbers like the Bolt Thrower-y rumble of “Eye of Harmony” or the Massacre meets Stoner ish groove of “Darkness of Glass”  (complete with “I SAID….. HEEEEY”) try to break the mold a little but when you hear closer “Panopticon”,  it’s clear this is what they do best and know so well. Now- about that cover art……

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 28th, 2018


  1. Commented by: Allred

    Ingram really does sound great, love that his vocals still got”it”.

  2. Commented by: Jay

    Great review brother and really diggin’ this. Enjoyin’ the hell out of what I’m hearing.

  3. Commented by: Blackwater Park

    What about the cover art? Done by the awesome Turkka G. Rantanen who has done covers for all of Finland’s best Death Metal bands including Demilich, Adramelech, Demigod, Funebre, Depravity, Galvanizer, and Torture Killer. As well as recent covers by The Grotesquery, Ribspreader, and Sewercide. What a weak thing to complain about!

  4. Commented by: E. Thomas

    Yeah, he does.great work. Just not feeling this one

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain