Emanations from the Crypt (Reissue)

Ohio’s Embalmer continues to be one of my top bands in all of death metal and with them recording their new album, for a 2020 release, I felt it befitting to review their 2016 release,  Emanations from the Crypt which recently was spit-shined, polished and vomited out with not only a remastering of the sound but the album being remixed as well.  Throw in several bonus tracks and you have the makings of a must have reissue.  Now while this album was released only a few years ago you may ask yourself why in the hell would this need such an audio upgrade, as those are usually reserved for albums 15+ years or older.  Well Embalmer felt the music was always there, however the sound/production failed to give the songs their proper due.  When you’re talking about underground death metal, or music in general, a band always wants their newest album to be their best and finest sounding album to date. Paul, the singer and longtime friend, is always working at how to make his band better and push them further and this was the right way to go.

I reviewed this album when it was first released and I raved about it.  I love raw, organic productions and it always goes with Embalmer’s live sound.  It’s natural and brutal.  But when “Dead Female Stalker” comes rip roaring through your speakers you will appreciate the remaster and remix.  Wow.  The sound punches you in the gut, pulls out your intestines, wraps them around your body, launches you into outer space and then proceeds to do jump rope intestines, which is an all time classic, circa 1985.  I am serious when I state the sound is louder, but the remix really captures the guitar and drum sound to their fullest extent.  The sound is a little less “loose” and tighter overall.  The bass drums have more power and the snare really hits home, fucking hard.  The guitar sound has more of a razor sharp menace, cutting through your speakers and tossing your helpless body from side to side with no remorse.

The title track is one of the best Embalmer songs ever and Paul’s awesome long opening growl pierces a bit more with the upgraded sound.  The guitars on this song have a heaviness that is rarely seen in death metal, with its Autopsy dripping influence, that your would find on maybe Retribution for the Dead or Severed Survival.  It’s beyond gut-wrenching and the heaviness not only collapsed 5 floors on the World Trade Exchange, but the entire block.  Embalmer has that knack of crafting heavy, but memorable songs and I cannot tell you how much I love this song.  It is one of the best death metal songs, period!

The three bonus tracks are live versions of “Bonebox” and “Taxidermist” and a re-recording of “Cannibalistic Future”, which was demoed with their former singer, Rick, some years back.  A brutal track in its own right and this re-recorded version with Paul on vocals is better than the original.  As I stated the remixed and remastering really adds to the overall sound experience with everything sounding much better.  The packaging is awesome as it comes housed in a beautiful glossy mediabook.  The attached booklet has pictures, lyrics and great artwork.  This is the ultimate, definitive Buy or Die edition of Emanations from the Crypt.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
March 4th, 2020


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal
  • Hideous Divinity - Unextinct
  • Exhorder - Defectum Omnium