Embrace Your Punishment
Made of Stone

France’s Embrace Your Punishment started as a pretty standard hardcore Hatebreed-ish band with some death metal hues back in 2014s Honor Before Glory, but has got progressively heavier with 2019s Nameless King, especially vocally. And now with album number 3, Made of Stone, are an absolute beast of a band that blends hardcore, brutal death metal, and slam into a monster of an album.

Made of Stone will have fans of fellow Frenchmen Kanine, Dying Fetus , Despised Icon, Full Blown Chaos, Benighted as well as the UKs Malevolence and Dyscarnate crapping their collective camo shorts. And as if to hammer it home ex-Dying Fetus and current Misery Index Frontman Jason Netherton helps out on “Unconquered”,  and Benighted‘s Julien Truchan helps out on “Exterminate The Threat”. As a bonus, Kirk Windstein from Crowbar helps out with the title track with some typically gravelly vocals.

From start to finish, the 12 tracks here just punch you in the face with a plethora of combative beatdowns, slams, grooves, blasts, reeeees and bleghs. Lots of bleghs The above tracks with guests certainly stand out especially “Unconquered” and “Made in Stone I” where Windstein adds some soulful croons to the moodier, mid-paced lumbering tune (part II is a surprising acoustic number…….no joke).

“Oppression”, “Aeons of Fire”, “Worthless Hound” and another mid-paced rumbler “Minotaur’s Wrath” are other pure fucking bruisers made for punching floors….. or faces. If you need to fuel a workout or go on a baby-punching rampage, this should help.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 21st, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain