All Hail the Void

Milwaukee hardcore/crust band Enabler have said about their new full length – the world is fucked, and this is the soundtrack to its demise.  Based on their lyrical themes it’s a pretty accurate description, albeit a bold one.  With bleak artwork and song titles such as “Fuck Today” and “Save Yourself”, you can tell these guys are pissed off and want everyone to know about it.

Founder and vocalist/guitarist Jacob Lohrber and fellow six-stringer Greg Thomas lead the charge, names people might recognize from their work with noted hardcore bands Shai Hulud, Harlots and Trap Them .  Lohrber sounds almost identical to Architect frontman Keith Allen, so much so that I had to double check that they weren’t indeed the same.  Those familiar with Architect’s Ghost of the Saltwater Machines, Trap Them and Earth Crisis will feel right at home with this album.  The d-beat driven madness is spat forth by none other than Fall Out Boy drummer Andy Hurley, who shows he has some serious chops that will make people forgive his pop-metal roots(check out the double bass on display about halfway through “Fuck Today”).

This album is not trying to break the mold, but what they bring to the table is good for what it is.  You get the shouted, hateful vocals, and a fuzzy guitar tone to stir the pot.  You also get a bit of death metal-lite and obvious punk leanings tossed into the mix.  The title track opens with some Testament style groove and pacing before a quick dose of the album’s rare blast beats, while “They Live, We Sleep” sees the band slow things down a bit toward its latter half, and it’s a nice change.  They still bring the intensity, but 35 minutes of the same tempo would have gotten old real quick.

As it is the album definitely feels like they’re just going through the motions at times, and while Lohrber’s vocals aren’t bad, his shouted style can get a bit tiresome with repeated listens.  As mentioned earlier the lyrics are centered on society’s ills, criticisms, and rising up and doing your own thing.  This is a decent album, which fans of the aforementioned genres should enjoy spinning a few times.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kevin E
August 1st, 2012


  1. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    the title track on this disc is nasty.

  2. Commented by: ElGueroSinFe

    I really like this release and I’m not sure your review does it justice Kevin. They have a lot more in common with labelmates Blackbreath, Balaclava or All Pigs Must Die than they do with Architect or Earth Crisis [WFT on that one…]

  3. Commented by: Kevin E.

    I haven’t heard the other 2 bands you mentioned besides black breath and I didn’t care for their style at all so can’t really comment on that one. But I 100% stand behind the architect reference. Have you actually listened to that album?

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu