The Second World War has been a go-to subject for any Black Metal band worth their salt. Hell, Marduk has made a career of it over the years and they don’t show any signs of stopping. So it’s not a big surprise that German Black Metallers Endstille are back with DetoNation hammering home the adage, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it; and since 2001’s demo Demon they have been consistent with every release. DetoNation is a fucking tank rolling across a battlefield, a literal carnival of destruction.

It all starts with a bang “New World Lethargy” is the blast fest that makes me happy. Endstille has this amazing guitar tone that is unique to them, it’s incredibly raw; discordant to a subtle degree. But what I love is the overall tempo of the songs.

One thing Endstille does well is going for the throat and then pulling back to a more restrained beating. This is evident in “Jericho Howls” and the tortured victim of “Tochnit Aleph” a slow burning effigy before eruption happens. There are so many great moments on DetoNation, album number nine if you’re keeping track, and even though Navigator will always remain my favorite Endstille album, DetoNation has some of the heaviest songs I’ve heard since 2009’s Verführer, with tracks like “Vigilante Justice” and the massive as fuck closer “Endstille (Weltkrieg)”, DetoNation shows them at the top of their game, using a scorched earth policy to get the most out of their Black Metal attack.

At the end of the day, as the smoke clears this is a top-tier release, worthy of your undivided attention. If you love your Black Metal bloody raw, if you think Marduk, Infernal War, and God Dethroned are bands you’d invite to a BBQ, you’d better be inviting Endstille, as well. So, what are you waiting for? Constant reader, go forth and purchase.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jeremy Beck
September 28th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP