Suicide In Winter's Moonlight

Frankfurt Indiana’s scariest duo return with an inexplicable re-issue of their limited 2006 cdr demo release that only serves to show that their horrid debut, The Night Our Rituals Blackened The Stars, was not in fact a fluke and the band can actually be consistently terrible over two releases.

Why oh why someone at AKR records felt this was good enough to grace with full packaging, artwork and some rerecorded tracks is beyond me as this due (now possibly a trio?) make Fear of Eternity and Striborg look like Leviathan.

Still delivered by a drum machine, empty guitars and overbearing, High School play rate synths and strangled cat rasps, the style of supposedly atmospheric and cosmically depressive metal, is only made depressing by the fact a label actually released it. Throw in that this is a whopping 16 tracks and 54 minutes, and somewhere, Varg is killing a kitten and smiling because having his music perverted into something so shitty and amateur might get him released so he can tell everyone with a Casio and a PC to stop it already as an act of mercy. Also, somewhere (probably in his basement recording another 12 albums) Andrea Tilenni of Fear of Eternity is listening to this saying “Holy shit, you guys are bad”.

I’d usually like to list highlights to at least get some track titles to you, but it would be a mere gesture as this album is simply 16 lowlights of shaky, inept basement level ambient black metal that should make all the other artists shun the band in shame. But for space’s sake here some song titles; “The Silent Gates”, “Where Ghosts Dwell”, “Suffer In the Embrace of the Cold” and “The Cruel Silence of the Sky”. . Oooooooooooooo-scaaaaaaaary.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
February 7th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock