Time Will Take Us All

“While we all have lots of bands who influence still… we all rip off Meshuggah.”

-Devin Townsend

I mention this quote because, despite my opinion of them (I do not much like them, kind sir), their influence and impact on modern heavy metal cannot be overstated. This is not to say Entheos has or ever will be rip-offs because that’s simply not the case, but the band’s influence is clear on older material and their new scorcher Time Will Take Us All.

I’ve been a follower of Entheos for a while since seeing them in Pittsburgh in the before times, then on their very next tour when they visited again last year. I was not prepared. Their game stepped up immensely in the live environment and vocalist Chaney Crabb put on one of the best live performances I have seen, only rivaled by Katerina Economou from Escuela Grind. I want to point out the fact that I did not use the pejorative “for a woman” disclaimer because, first of all, that’s bullshit. Secondly, I meant THE BEST. Not “for a woman,” but overall, so dudes, step it the fuck up if you even want to be considered in the same league.

With that being said, this is one of my most anticipated albums of the year, and it wastes no time breaking into a djenty groove on the opener “Absolute Zero.” Live, Chaney was jumping and bouncing around, which is quite difficult not to do. Her growls and highs are the stars here, with both of them being top notch, and some of the best in the business. I might argue her highs ARE the best. Of course, there’s a killer guitar solo around 2 minutes in, and the tech break around 3 minutes reminds you who they are. With around one minute left, there’s a monstrous breakdown, followed by another fantastic solo to end it.

If the first track was any indication of what’s to come, hold firmly onto your butts. The leads and solos of Navene Koperweis are outstanding throughout, as well as the bass from Evan Brewer. Throughout the first few tracks, the grooves come fast and rarely slow. However, on track 4, “Oblivion,” the clean guitars, clean vocals, and of course Evan’s fretless bass give way to a djenty groove about 2 minutes in. The lyrics might make you think this is the title track, but that’s later. While this is quite possibly the slowest track, it’s no less impactful, and includes one of the best solo sections, which just means it’s tied for first with all the others.

The next track, “I Am the Void,” needs to be mentioned. It’s slow at first, but Chaney’s clean vocals trading off with her highs and lows stand out and make it that much heavier. There’s been a lot of talk about her exploring and pushing her range. If you come out of this song a non-believer in that statement, maybe just, like, don’t. This is a definite highlight of the album.

After a couple shorter tracks, “The Sinking Sun,” which is over 7 minutes, comes at you with a solo within the first 30 seconds. The breakdown at around 1:30, is sufficiently teased and perfectly executed. A little over 4 minutes in, there’s a finger tapping lead, which segues into a breakdown where you will hear Chaney’s vicious highs sounding even nastier. Oh, then another solo! A small clean vocal and guitar break ends the track, making way for the closer.

As you probably figured, the closer is also the title track. It’s just over 3 minutes, starts out slow, but then it’s just Chaney’s brutal growls, and overbearing heaviness making your dick hit the dirt. Fuck.

I know I’ve gone a little long here, but I have a lot to say about this album. It’s clear Entheos have pushed themselves and the fruits of their labor show. This is the crowning achievement of their career so far, and an album you should have in your collection. It’s guaranteed to get your head moving, and maybe you’ll even surprise yourself with some fist-pumping white girl dance moves. I’ve listened to a lot of great music this here, mostly reviewed on the site, and Time Will Take Us All is very high on the list.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by J Mays
March 17th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul